Connect with us

Races

Onil’s 2027 trail race: date, start time, distances and fees

Onil hosts a March trail event with four options, an 8 a.m. start and entry fees that vary by registration date.

Published

on

Corredores junto a la fortaleza de Onil antes de la prueba de trail de marzo de 2027

Plan your race pace

The 10th edition of Onil Trails will take place on Sunday, March 14, 2027, in Onil, with a scheduled start at 8 a.m. near the Palace-Fortress of the Marquis of Dos Aguas. The event offers four formats: a 25-kilometer course, two 14-kilometer options — one competitive and one for hiking — and a short 5-kilometer race.

Published entry fees range from 15 to 30 euros, depending on the distance and registration date. Registration is scheduled to run from September 1, 2026, through March 10, 2027, although each format has its own pricing stages. Available information confirms the date, start time, elevation gain for the longer distances and starting point, but does not provide a detailed route map for each course.

A March 2027 mountain event in Onil

Onil Trails will once again bring runners and hikers together for a mountain event in the Alicante municipality of Onil. The 2027 edition marks the event’s 10th anniversary and is scheduled for the second Sunday in March. The registration information lists 8 a.m. as the general start time, an important detail for planning travel and arrival at the start area.

The stated location is the Palace-Fortress of the Marquis of Dos Aguas, in Onil’s town center. The listing identifies the venue but does not provide a complete postal address or clarify whether all formats start at precisely the same time. To avoid confusion, participants should check the rules and organizer updates closer to race day, particularly for start times by distance and bib collection.

This is a specific event date, not a general calendar estimate. March 14, 2027, falls on a Sunday, and the listing describes the event as its 10th edition. March conditions can vary from year to year and by time of day: on a mountain course, early-morning cold, dampness or wind can matter more than in an urban race, although no specific weather forecast has been published for that day.

Four formats with different profiles

The longest option is the 25-kilometer Trail Onil, with 1,300 meters of positive elevation gain listed in the registration information. That combination of distance and climbing makes for a demanding event: effort depends not only on pace but also on gradients, surface and time spent moving. The available reference information does not include an elevation profile or show where the climbs are concentrated.

The 14-kilometer option appears under two names and with two distinct purposes. The 14-kilometer Trail Onil and Sender Onil share the published elevation gain of 700 meters, but the second option is intended for hiking. Distance and climbing offer a broad sense of the workload, but they are not enough to compare pace or difficulty precisely. Details on terrain, aid stations, cut-off times and specific rules for each route are missing.

The shortest option is the 5-kilometer Super Sprint. Its shorter distance may appeal to those who prefer a brief event, but the format’s name does not reveal its elevation gain or surface. Nor should participants assume that it is flat or equivalent to a road race. The event is a trail gathering, and the listing consulted gives no further technical description of this course.

The range means the event is not limited to a single distance or type of participant. The 25-kilometer race has the greatest stated elevation gain, while the two 14-kilometer options distinguish competitive running from hiking. The Super Sprint adds a shorter format. That difference in purpose matters when choosing an entry: the format should match the kind of activity planned, not just the number of kilometers.

Entry fees and registration dates

Published fees are divided into two stages for the 25- and 14-kilometer options. The 25-kilometer Trail Onil costs 25 euros through February 14, 2027, and 30 euros from then until the scheduled closing date. For the 14-kilometer Trail Onil and Sender Onil, the price is 20 euros in the first stage and 25 euros in the second. The registration information says taxes are included.

The 5-kilometer Super Sprint has an initial fee of 15 euros through February 13, 2027, rising to 20 euros in the following stage. The date differs from the other formats by one day, so it is worth checking the specific fee before completing registration. Across all three distances, the price change follows the published schedule; the listing does not say it depends on a particular number of available bibs.

The general registration window is listed as running from 12 p.m. on September 1, 2026, through 11:59 p.m. on March 10, 2027. That would put the closing date four days before the event, provided there are no later changes or an earlier limit on places for an individual format. The listing also says taxes are included, but does not specify possible service fees or refund conditions.

The pricing dates help explain the cost of taking part, but they do not replace reading the rules. Before registering, it is sensible to check the conditions for name changes, withdrawals or refunds, as well as requirements for each format. The registration platform lists queries about those procedures, but the summary does not state which circumstances qualify for a refund or what deadlines apply.

What is known about the route — and what remains unclear

The published information confirms 1,300 meters of positive elevation gain for the 25-kilometer route and 700 meters for the 14-kilometer options. Those figures describe the cumulative climbing, not the highest elevation or the gradient of each section. A route with 700 meters of climbing can feel very different depending on how the ascent is distributed and how much of the course follows tracks, paths or technical terrain.

No detailed map, elevation profile, surface information or aid-station locations are listed. Cut-off times, checkpoints, mandatory gear and rules for spectators are also absent. It is therefore not possible to describe a specific itinerary or claim that the route passes through a particular landscape. The fortress identifies the advertised starting area, but does not reveal the full course.

This lack of detail does not make the basic information useless, but it does set its limits. Anyone assessing the longer distance should weigh its stated elevation gain against their mountain-running experience; those choosing the 14-kilometer option should distinguish the trail race from the hiking format. The event rules and organizer instructions will be the key references once they provide schedules, routes and services.

In mountain races, distance tells only part of the story. A narrow path, a sustained climb or an uneven descent can significantly change effort and expected time. Without an elevation profile and surface details, comparisons with other events would be speculative. For now, the safest reading relies on the distances and elevation figures explicitly published, without attributing unconfirmed features to the route.

The start near the Palace-Fortress

The Palace-Fortress of the Marquis of Dos Aguas places the meeting point in central Onil and gives participants a clear reference for finding the event. The registration listing names it as the event location, but does not specify a gate, square or street for the start. It also does not confirm whether the finish will be at the same spot. Until those details are published, it is more accurate to refer to the start area than to give an exact address.

Arriving at a mountain event often takes more time than simply reaching the start at the scheduled hour: bib pickup, dropping off belongings and finding the right entrance can all take time. Here, the announced general start is 8 a.m. on Sunday, March 14, but the available information does not give bib-collection hours or when access opens. Those details should be checked in the rules or in organizer updates before race day.

Onil is in Alicante province, in the Valencian Community. The municipality helps locate the event, but the information consulted does not include travel, parking or accommodation recommendations. Visitors from other towns will need to check transport options and parking conditions separately, without assuming spaces will be reserved near the start.

How to assess the difficulty of each distance

Cumulative elevation gain is a useful first reference for assessing effort, but it is not an official difficulty rating. For the 25-kilometer course, 1,300 meters of climbing points to a substantial amount of uphill running. Even so, pace, duration and technical demands will depend on how that climbing is distributed and the terrain described in the final map.

For the 14-kilometer option, 700 meters of climbing is a considerable proportion of the total distance. That does not make it automatically easy or hard: the experience varies with fitness, preparation and course conditions. The hiking format should also not be treated as an identical version of the race at a slower pace; there may be different instructions or procedures to check in the rules.

The Super Sprint is the shortest listed option at 5 kilometers, but its elevation gain has not been published. Comparing its difficulty with a short road race would therefore be premature. Mountain terrain can demand careful foot placement and changes of pace even over a brief course. A sensible choice starts with the format and confirmed technical details, rather than assumptions based on its name.

These differences give the event several ways to take part, although the available information is not detailed enough to recommend a specific option to each person. A long race, a 14-kilometer run, a hiking route and a short format all offer different experiences. Checking the rules, elevation and route once available provides a more complete picture than distance alone.

Rules, bibs and practical information

The event listing announces a set of rules for the March 2027 event. That document should clarify details missing from the summary: categories, permitted or required gear, start procedures, checkpoints, services and possible changes. With several mountain formats, the rules are the reference for distinguishing the conditions of each route and answering questions that fees or dates cannot settle.

Registration is handled through the platform identified in the listing. The available contact topics include payment problems, a missing name on the participant list, a copy of the receipt, and requests for withdrawal, refund or a name change. It also provides for general questions about bibs, routes, schedules, rules and services. The listing does not explain the outcome of any request, so the presence of a contact form does not guarantee approval of a change or refund.

To reduce administrative errors, it is useful to keep the payment receipt and check that personal details and the selected format are correct. If a problem arises, the listing points to a WhatsApp contact channel for the registration platform, but the excerpt does not provide a complete verifiable number to reproduce here. Name changes and refunds must be checked against the official conditions, rather than assumed from the existence of a contact form.

Registration is scheduled to close on March 10, although fees rise before then and the price stage depends on the format. There may also be later updates about entry limits or availability, neither of which appears in the reference information. The published closing date is useful guidance, not a guarantee that every category will remain open until then.

An edition with options for running and hiking

The 10th edition combines a long distance with two 14-kilometer formats and a short race. The hiking option expands the event beyond competition, while the trail distances offer a challenge for those who want to run the course. This mix makes it important to follow the instructions for each format rather than automatically applying one set of rules to another.

Paces can vary widely even among participants covering the same distance at a mountain event. Climbing, terrain and experience all affect moving time; hiking may have a different priority and rhythm from racing. Because start times by format and cut-off times have not been published, it is unwise to predict an official duration or precise order of starts.

The range of distances gives the event several ways to take part, but the technical information available is uneven. Elevation gain is listed for the 25- and 14-kilometer routes, while the Super Sprint is identified by distance and name. That difference in available information matters when comparing formats: an incomplete description should not be filled in with assumptions about terrain or difficulty.

A confirmed date, with route details still to come

The key event information is already on the calendar: Onil, Sunday, March 14, 2027, an announced 8 a.m. start and four formats with fees ranging from 15 to 30 euros. The Palace-Fortress of the Marquis of Dos Aguas is listed as the start reference, and registration is scheduled to close on March 10. These details are enough to identify the event and compare its basic options.

Important points remain to be confirmed, particularly the map, elevation profile, surface, aid stations and detailed schedules. Until that information appears in the rules or an official update, the most accurate description is also the most cautious: a mountain event in Onil with published distances and elevation figures, but no complete route available. That distinction supports planning based on real information and avoids turning gaps in the listing into certainties.

The 10th edition has a date and pricing structure, while the actual experience of each course will depend on the technical details released later. For runners and hikers, the calendar marks the day; the rules will fill in the rest of the picture. In a mountain race, that distinction matters: kilometers count, but the terrain and rules explain what each one will involve.

Where to stay in Onil

Hotels available 12–15 March 2027.

Affiliate links: if you book through this map we earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

Lo más leído