Races
Omenaldi K. 2027: date, distance and entry in Deba
Deba will host a 9.5-kilometer race in January, with entry listed at 16 euros.

Deba will host a 9.5-kilometer popular race on Jan. 10, 2027, linked to the tribute reflected in the event’s name. The available listing places the race in the Gipuzkoan town and sets the entry fee at 16 euros; it also says participants must be at least 16 years old.
The event is listed in the calendar under a distance close to 10K, although the published course length is 9.5 kilometers. The information consulted does not specify the start location, start time, route or surface, so those details should be confirmed through the organizers’ communication before planning travel or race strategy.
Race details in Deba
The race is scheduled for Sunday, Jan. 10, 2027, in Deba, in Gipuzkoa. Deba Xtrem is named as the organizer. These are the basic details that identify the event, but they are not enough to reconstruct the route or determine whether the start and finish will be in the same place.
The name includes the Basque word omenaldi, associated with a tribute, and the name Juan Jose Alcelay. The available reference provides no biography and does not explain the circumstances behind the recognition. The safest interpretation is to treat the tribute as part of the race’s name without assigning the person a story that is not documented in the information provided.
The date is confirmed in the details supplied for this edition. Other elements commonly found in a complete race listing are missing: start time, exact address, detailed rules and an official link. That absence does not change the published date, but it does limit what can be said about race-day logistics. Distinguishing confirmed information from pending details prevents a forecast from being presented as fact.
A 9.5-kilometer distance, close to the 10K format
The announced course is 9.5 kilometers, a length often grouped under the 10K category in race calendars because of its proximity. It should not be described as exactly 10 kilometers: the difference is half a kilometer, enough to affect pace calculations and finishing times compared with a certified 10K distance.
A simple calculation using a runner’s usual pace gives a rough sense of the effort. At 5 minutes per kilometer, 9.5 kilometers takes about 47 minutes and 30 seconds; at 6 minutes per kilometer, about 57 minutes. These are mathematical estimates, not predictions for this event, because elevation, surface and course layout are not included in the available listing.
The distance may appeal both to people trying a popular race for the first time and to runners accustomed to shorter events. That assessment also depends on the course profile, however. A flat paved route demands a different effort from one with hills or uneven terrain, and there is no confirmed information to show which conditions participants will encounter in Deba.
What is known and unknown about the route
The listing gives the distance and town but does not specify streets, total elevation gain, number of laps or surface. It also does not say whether the course runs through the town center, along paths or over a combination of surfaces. Without those details, the event cannot be confidently classified as a road, trail or mountain race, and its most demanding sections cannot be anticipated.
This matters when choosing shoes and setting expectations. A lightweight road shoe does not perform the same way on dirt or wet ground, while a rolling profile can make a strategy based only on kilometer pace misleading. Until a map is published, the reasonable approach is to treat the 9.5 kilometers as the only verifiable distance detail.
The precise location of the start and finish is also missing. Deba is the municipality named, but that does not establish a specific square, promenade or venue. The start time is absent as well. Both details matter when arranging travel, allowing time to arrive and finding out where race bibs are collected, so it is best not to borrow times or addresses from other editions.
Registration, entry fee and minimum age
The published entry fee is 16 euros, both for the general rate in the listing and the card-payment option. The information says registration opened on Oct. 1, 2026, and closes on Jan. 10, 2027, at 11 a.m. That time refers to the listed registration deadline, not the race start.
The event sets a minimum age of 16. No age-group categories, conditions for minors, required documents or exceptions are detailed, so none should be assumed. The listing also does not specify whether the fee includes particular services such as a T-shirt, refreshments or timing. Those items depend on the specific rules and should not be treated as included without confirmation.
The listing sets a limit of 300 participants and, in the reference snapshot, records one place pending within that limit. That figure appears to relate to a particular point in the registration process and does not establish current availability. Since registration runs through race day, the number of remaining places can change; the fee and capacity are published details, but current status should be checked through the organizers’ registration channel.
Deba and the context of a winter race
The date places the event in the heart of winter, which may affect clothing, warm-ups and finish times, although it does not determine the weather. There is no reliable forecast this far in advance, nor are previous-edition details available to describe conditions on race day. Planning should be based on a forecast closer to the date, not an assumption about the weather.
At a winter race, waiting before the start can feel colder than the effort once the course is underway. Many participants therefore wear an extra layer they can remove before running and set aside a few minutes to warm up without standing exposed. These are general considerations for January events, not specific instructions from the Deba organizers; the information provided does not mention access procedures or a bag-drop service.
The town provides the geographic setting for the event, but there is not enough detail to link the course to a particular view, waterfront promenade or landscape. Avoiding that kind of description matters: an appealing image can seem plausible and still fail to match the actual route. Until a map is released, the race should be described precisely as a 9.5-kilometer event in Deba, without adding unconfirmed features to its course.
How to read the published details
Race listings often gather information from different sources and are updated at different times. The date, distance, price or capacity may appear before a map and rules. In this case, the available details identify the race and outline its format, but leave logistical questions open. Separating firm facts from pending information is more useful than filling gaps with guesses.
The clearest details are the Jan. 10, 2027, date and the town of Deba. The listing also names the organizer and gives the 9.5-kilometer distance, 16-euro fee, minimum age and registration dates. By contrast, the reference material does not include a start time, address, surface, elevation profile or official URL. Those gaps should remain visible until a verifiable update becomes available.
The distance deserves particular attention in personal race records. Anyone comparing a result with an exact 10K should remember that this event is listed as 500 meters shorter. Measurement method and the final course can also matter, but that information is not included. A time over 9.5 kilometers is not directly equivalent to an official 10K mark, even if both events are grouped under 10K races in a calendar.
A race defined by its tribute
The race name places the tribute to Juan Jose Alcelay at the forefront, distinguishing it from an event identified only by its distance or town. The reference does not explain the person’s connection to Deba or the origin of the initiative, so there is no basis for adding a biography. That restraint is part of reporting accurately on a local race.
Popular races of this kind bring together different aims: some participants compete, others take stock of their fitness, and some simply want to complete the course with others. The 9.5-kilometer distance offers a clear challenge, although its real difficulty will depend on terrain and elevation, which remain unknown. The tribute may give the day particular meaning for the community, but the available information does not describe the extent of that participation.
The January event is therefore outlined in its essentials, with the finer details still pending. The date, town, distance, fee and minimum age identify the race; the map, schedule and services will show how the day is organized. In Deba, the calendar marks Jan. 10, 2027. The rest of the experience will depend on the information the organizers provide before runners line up at the start.

Races2 months agoValencia 2026: dates, registration and 21K guide
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoAsics Gel-Roadmiles 3 for men: review and current price
Races2 months agoValencia Marathon 2026: entry, ballot and course
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoAsics Gel Sonoma 8 Gore-Tex: complete analysis for trail and rain
- Sneakers2 months ago
Saucony Endorphin Pro 4: full review and verdict
News4 months agoStrava API 2026: what changes for clubs, challenges and runner apps?
Reviews and Comparisons4 months agoNike Alphafly 3: opinions, sensations, and real key points
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoNew Balance TWO WXY V5: analysis, price, and performance
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoUnder Armour running shoes review 2025-2026: models and key features
Sports Equipment3 months agoShoe sizes in cm: a clear guide to getting the right fit for your footwear
- Sneakers2 months ago
Neutral running shoes with lots of cushioning: the best of 2026
News3 months agoWhere is the Hoka brand from and why was it born in France









