Connect with us

Races

Gimnástica de Ulía 10K 2027: start times and registration

The San Sebastián event features a 5K, a mass-participation 10K and a sub-45 race beside Zurriola beach.

Published

on

Corredores junto al mar, un entorno como el del 10K de la Gimnástica de Ulía de 2027 en Donostia

Plan your race pace

The Gimnástica de Ulía will hold its 96th edition on February 14, 2027, in Donostia-San Sebastián, with mass-participation 5K and 10K races and a flat course beside Zurriola beach in the Gros district. Registration is open, and the announcement sets a limit of 2,000 participants for the popular race. The date is confirmed: the event will take place on a Sunday.

The published programme lists the 5K start at 9:30 a.m. and the mass-participation 10K at 10:15 a.m., while the race named 10K Élite sub45 is scheduled for 12:15 p.m. Junior races will take place between them. Both main courses are certified, but the available information does not state the entry fee: an introductory rate is advertised without an amount that would allow runners to calculate the cost of their entry.

The correct event name is Gimnástica de Ulía, and its home is the capital of Gipuzkoa. Some calendars omit the accents or misspell the name, an unhelpful source of confusion when searching for accommodation, results or registration. This is the former Cross de Reyes de San Sebastián, now presented as a road-running event with several distances and separate starts. That history explains part of its identity, but it does not make the current course a cross-country race.

The 2027 edition offers two ways to experience the same morning: taking part in a mass-participation race and then watching a more demanding competition. Not all runners start together, and not everyone covers the same distance. That separation is one of the announcement’s most important details because it determines arrival time, warm-up arrangements and when belongings can be collected. The schedule depends on the race entered, not simply on the name of the event.

The shorter distance opens the programme at 9:30 a.m. Its 5 kilometres provide an alternative for runners who prefer a shorter effort, although that does not necessarily mean racing at a lower intensity. An experienced athlete may run a 5K at a faster pace than a 10K; another participant may choose it for their first race on a certified course. What changes is the distance over which effort is sustained, not an assumed distinction between better and worse runners.

The mass-participation 10K is scheduled to start at 10:15 a.m., the main reference point for runners seeking to complete 10 kilometres outside the separate 12:15 p.m. race. There are 45 minutes between the 5K start and this one, but that interval does not establish the maximum time allowed to finish the shorter distance. A start time and a race completion time limit are different pieces of information. The latter is not provided in the supplied material.

The Élite sub45 name deserves attention before selecting an entry category. In pace terms, completing 10 kilometres in 45 minutes requires an average of 4 minutes and 30 seconds per kilometre; going under that time requires a slightly faster average. However, the published label does not explain how a qualifying performance is verified, what entry conditions apply or whether there are additional requirements. It should not be read as automatic eligibility based on pace without checking the registration rules.

The junior programme also separates distances and start times. The juvenile and cadet race is listed as 3,120 metres, starting at 11:30 a.m.; the infantil and alevín race covers 1,560 metres and starts at 11:50 a.m. These are distinct races, not informal versions of the 5K. Admission ages, permissions and participation conditions are not specified in the available material, so assigning birth years to each category would be unreliable. Here, the competition category determines eligibility and requires a separate check.

The main setting is Gros, beside Zurriola beach. The published description presents a flat, certified road course, an appealing combination for assessing performance over a recognised distance. The sea is part of the race’s scenery, but it is no substitute for technical information: no detailed map has been supplied to identify every street and turn or pinpoint the start and finish lines. The number of laps for each race is also unspecified.

Course certification means the route’s distance has been measured under the relevant procedure; it is not simply an estimate taken from a watch. The organisers advertise this status for both the 5K and the 10K. That matters when comparing times over the same distance, although the official recognition of a performance may also depend on race conditions and the applicable competition rules. Course certification and acceptance of every result are not interchangeable concepts.

In practice, a watch may record slightly more than 5 or 10 kilometres even when the course has been measured correctly. Wide turns, overtaking and small deviations from the racing line add distance, while the device’s signal can introduce variation too. A GPS discrepancy therefore does not, by itself, demonstrate a course error. When interpreting a performance, the time recorded by race timing and the official race distance matter more than expecting an exact number on a wrist display.

A flat profile makes it easier to maintain a steady stride, but it does not guarantee a personal best. Wind can alter the effort required in a coastal setting, and rain affects grip and comfort. There is no reliable weather forecast for this particular day so many months in advance. The sensible distinction is straightforward: the course profile offers favourable characteristics, while race-day conditions remain unknown. Confusing the two would turn a feature of the route into a promise of performance.

Registration for 2027 is advertised as available through the official race website. The opening announcement mentions specially priced entries and says the introductory rate has not increased from the previous edition, but it does not give the amount. Later price bands, changeover dates and possible processing charges are also absent. The total entry price is undocumented in the supplied information and cannot be replaced with a figure borrowed from another race or an earlier edition.

The announced limit of 2,000 participants applies to the popular race, according to the wording of the announcement. There is no breakdown of places between the 5K and 10K, and the figure is not identified as the capacity for the entire programme, including junior and elite events. Open registration must also be distinguished from unlimited availability: the stated status establishes that race entries are on sale, but not how many remain or whether any particular distance is close to selling out.

For runners travelling from outside Gipuzkoa, the entry fee is only one part of the participation budget. Transport, accommodation and possible home delivery can add costs, but none should be confused with the race fee. The supplied information does not support publishing a fixed budget for someone travelling from Valencia or another city. It does highlight a practical issue: race-number collection shapes travel plans just as much as the start time of the chosen distance.

The services page describes collection through partner shops, with runners selecting a location during registration. It lists Deportes Apalategui and Apalategui Woman in Donostia-San Sebastián, along with Deportes Apalategui in Zumarraga, Leire Sport in Irun and Deportes Askasibar Intersport in Eibar. This network may spare some participants an extra trip, but their selection must match the options actually enabled for their entry. The shop chosen during registration is an operational detail, not a preference that can be assumed to have changed later.

Running Fiz in Vitoria-Gasteiz, Zariquiegui in Pamplona, Bikila in Bilbao and Madrid, and Mendi Sport in Anglet are also listed. The Madrid reference includes Avenida Donostiarra, 2. However, the accompanying collection schedule mentions February 4–7 without identifying the year. That prevents those dates from being presented as a confirmed collection schedule for 2027. A page combining new registration announcements with service information needs that distinction to avoid prompting travel on the wrong dates.

Home delivery of race numbers is described as costing €15 and covering Spain and France, using the address supplied by the athlete during registration. The option is also stated to be available only before January 15. As with the collection dates, that description does not explicitly identify the edition to which it applies. The €15 charge is for delivery, not the entry fee, and its conditions need confirmation for 2027 before it can be treated as a guaranteed service in a travel budget.

The services list includes a technical running shirt, timing, finish-line refreshments, bag storage, showers and category trophies. These are advertised provisions, but the supplied material does not specify every detail: shirt sizes and availability, the contents of the refreshments and the shower location are not stated. It also does not establish that drinks will be available on the course. The advertised refreshments are at the finish; inferring intermediate stations from that mention would add an undocumented feature.

Bag storage is listed at Plaza Cataluña, operating from 8:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m., although this information is likewise not explicitly dated as a service for the 2027 edition. The reference helps place the logistics in the Gros area, but it does not make the square the start or finish: those locations are not specified. The bag-storage location does not identify the start arch, course access point or finish area for each race.

Timing and results allow participants to follow their performance beyond the finish line, but details of the system are missing. The information does not say whether the timing device is integrated into the bib or how gun time and individual start-line time are displayed. Those measurements may differ in a mass-participation race. Without the relevant regulations, it would be inappropriate to assign the event a specific ranking or timing policy or state which time determines positions and prizes.

Category trophies appear among the services, but the prize distribution, exact categories and rules on receiving multiple awards are not published here. The same applies to refunds, entry transfers, cancellations and identification required for bib collection: all are relevant matters, but they are not developed in the available information. Missing details do not mean there are no rules. They mean entry conditions require the regulations and cannot be inferred from an announcement opening registration.

The competitive side of the Gimnástica de Ulía has a recent, verifiable reference point. In the men’s 10-kilometre race held on February 8, 2026, Carlos Mayo won in 29:00, followed by Jorge González Rivera in 29:17 and Nassim Hassaous in 29:24. Results recorded by World Athletics establish the level of that edition. They are not a 2027 entry list and do not justify announcing the return of those athletes for the next event.

In the women’s 2026 results, Isabel Barreiro finished first in 32:28, María Forero second in 33:01 and Marta Serrano third in 33:02. The one-second gap between the latter two illustrates how close that podium contest was. The results record appears within World Athletics road-racing coverage, but that historical reference does not itself confirm an international label for the 2027 edition, a broadcast or a field of entrants that has not yet been supplied.

For mass-participation runners, those performances provide context rather than a compulsory measure of success. A 50-minute 10K requires an average of 5:00 per kilometre; finishing in 60 minutes means averaging 6:00 per kilometre. In the 5K, completing the distance in 25 minutes also means 5:00 per kilometre. These equivalents help interpret effort and distinguish goals, but they are not time limits imposed by organisers. None of those figures is stated as a general participation requirement.

The choice between the two distances also depends on recent running experience. A 5K reduces total racing time, while a 10K requires the effort to be sustained over more kilometres. For someone returning to running, doubling the distance is not merely spending more minutes moving: it changes accumulated fatigue and the ability to maintain pace. The flat course does not remove that difference. A distance suited to current preparation is a more sensible reference than choosing solely for the prestige of the number.

On a morning with several starts, arriving with time to spare has a specific purpose: keeping travel, any use of bag storage and the warm-up separate. Road closures, reserved parking and access instructions have not been supplied, so direct car access to the course cannot be promised. For runners travelling from the Valencian Community, no event-linked transport arrangements are documented either. Logistics require up-to-date information, without turning possible travel options into services provided by the organisers.

The proximity of the sea adds a simple equipment consideration. Clothing that feels comfortable while running may be insufficient during the wait or after stopping, especially if it ends up wet. Bringing dry clothing for afterwards is a general practice, not an event requirement. Footwear should likewise have been tested before race day. The aim is to prevent equipment from causing avoidable discomfort on a day whose main challenge already lies in managing effort over the chosen distance.

The junior starts between the mass-participation 10K and the sub-45 race give the morning continuity for runners and spectators. Nevertheless, the programme does not guarantee that an adult can finish their own race, collect belongings and accompany a child without overlap. That depends on their finishing time and the actual locations of the races. The compatibility of family race schedules needs checking against the full programme, particularly when a child requires supervision before and after running.

The confirmed date of February 14, 2027, must remain separate from references to 2026. Previous results help establish the event’s competitive standard and history; an old broadcast time does not establish the start time for the new edition. That separation avoids two common errors in sports calendars: automatically carrying a time forward and treating undated services as current. For this event, the firm detail is the new date, alongside the published programme and the two main distances.

The Gimnástica de Ulía reaches its 96th edition with a recognisable proposition: road running, two certified distances and a morning bringing together mass-participation races, juniors and a sub-45 event in Donostia. Its appeal requires neither record-breaking promises nor commercial urgency. For participants, what matters is having an entry for the chosen race and current registration and collection conditions. Beside Zurriola beach, the experience depends on more than the course: accurate information also makes it possible to reach the start without avoidable uncertainty.

Where to stay in Donostia-San Sebastián

Hotels available 13–15 February 2027.

Affiliate links: if you book through this map we earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

Lo más leído