Races
Fontcoberta prepares to host the VIII Descoberta Run in 2026
The Catalan event is set for December, with its start point, some services and several course questions already in view.

Fontcoberta has a new edition of the Descoberta Run marked on its 2026 calendar for Dec. 21, 2026. The start and finish are scheduled at the Pavelló de Fontcoberta, and the available information describes a trail race with 120 meters of positive elevation gain. However, no official distance is listed yet, and there are not enough published details to reconstruct the course.
The race listing also attributes five categories to the event and mentions finish-line services such as food, trophies and a prize draw. There is an important caveat for anyone planning a trip: the references consulted do not agree on the edition number, and one places the race in February, while the latest date supplied for this event is in December. Dec. 21, 2026, is the date identified as confirmed, but operational details and registration information should be checked before travel arrangements are made.
The Fontcoberta event and its confirmed details
The town of Fontcoberta, in the Girona-area Pla de l’Estany region, is due to host the 2026 race. The central location named in the available information is the Pavelló de Fontcoberta, which is listed as both the start and finish venue. That gives participants a single landmark for the beginning and end of the event, although the listing does not provide a full street address, start time or exact location for race-bib pickup.
The date given for this event is Monday, Dec. 21, 2026. The day of the week helps identify a notable conflict with a race listing circulating online, which places the event on Sunday, Feb. 15, 2026. This is not a minor discrepancy: it changes travel planning and may relate to an earlier publication, a different edition or an incorrect detail. The latest information provided points to December as confirmed, but the schedule and full program are not yet available.
The edition number also varies. Some references label it the seventh edition, while another listing calls it the eighth and explicitly describes it as edition No. 8. The available information does not resolve that discrepancy with confidence. The most reliable way to identify the event for now is by its name, location and year, without treating the ordinal as final until the organizer publishes it consistently.
What to expect from the course and what remains unknown
The technical description classifies the race as trail running and gives 120 meters of positive elevation gain. That figure offers a sense of the cumulative climbing, but it is not enough to assess difficulty on its own: a route with short rises can feel different from one with a continuous climb, even when both have the same elevation gain. Nor does the number reveal the distance, surface mix, distribution of slopes or presence of technical sections.
The distance is not specified in the available data, and the race is listed as not officially measured. Lack of official measurement does not necessarily mean the route has never been measured; it means the listing does not provide an official certification of its length. Without a published distance, it cannot be reliably classified as a 5K, 10K or another distance, nor can runners set a target pace or compare it directly with measured, certified races.
The term trail describes a race that may combine tracks and paths, but it is not enough to establish the proportion of each surface in this edition. The percentages for paved roads, dirt tracks, paths and cross-country sections are blank. The exact route, detailed elevation profile and trail conditions are still pending, so it would be unwise to assign it a specific rural course or assume that the entire route avoids pavement.
For anyone preparing to race, those details matter more than a broad label. Distance helps estimate duration; the elevation profile informs effort, and the terrain affects footwear and technique. Until a map is published, any more precise course description would be speculative. The 120-meter figure should be treated as a partial guide, not a complete account of the race’s demands.
Start and finish at the Pavelló de Fontcoberta
The Pavelló de Fontcoberta is listed as both the start and finish, placing the event’s logistical center in one location. At many local races, having both points together makes it easier for participants to meet before the start and find the finish afterward, although that does not confirm which services will be available there or how access will work. The listing does not provide a street or number, making the pavilion name the most precise location currently available.
The information also leaves out the start time, when the bib area will open, parking locations and any traffic restrictions. These details are separate from the date and venue, and their absence can affect both runners and spectators. Confirmation of the date does not mean that the schedule has been published: it is not yet clear when participants should arrive, how much time they will have before the start or which services will operate at the venue.
Having the same start and finish point may be convenient for groups, since they do not need to coordinate two separate locations. Even so, it should not be taken to mean that bag storage, showers, changing rooms or reserved parking will be provided. Those services are not specified in the reference information and should remain unknown until announced.
Finish-line services and the feel of a local race
The services associated with the event include sandwiches or food after the race, trophies for the winners and a prize draw. This is a familiar combination at local popular races: the event does not necessarily end when runners cross the finish line, and sharing food gives participants and spectators a reason to stay in the same place. The listing does not, however, specify the menu, serving time or access arrangements for these services.
Trophies suggest an awards presentation, but the listing does not say which places or categories will be recognized. A prize draw also does not mean every participant is guaranteed an award: the prizes, entry process and timing have not been detailed. What is confirmed is that these services are mentioned, not the specific terms.
The five listed categories indicate that the event has a group-based classification, although names, minimum ages and eligibility criteria are not specified. It is not possible to say whether there will be youth, masters or gender-based categories without further information. That detail matters to runners with different goals because it determines the classification and scope of the awards.
The reference to a cup or circuit does not clearly establish that the race belongs to a particular championship. Another description links the event to a circuit of popular races in Pla de l’Estany, but provides no calendar, scoring system or participation rules. That link should be treated as an indication, not a set of competition regulations, until the conditions for this edition are published.
Registration, entry fee and details still missing
The available information does not provide an entry fee, registration dates, a deadline or a registration link. It also gives no maximum participant number, payment methods or late-entry surcharge. One listing shows Jan. 1, 1970, as the registration opening date, a value clearly incompatible with a 2026 event that appears to be a technical error rather than a valid registration date.
For that reason, the registration cannot be described as open, closed or sold out based on the information currently available. The confirmed race date does not, by itself, provide information about places or fees. The entry cost and registration status are not listed, so any specific amount would be invented. Instructions for picking up race bibs and cancellation or transfer terms are also missing, even though they can matter before completing a registration.
Once registration opens, it will be important to check that the year, date and edition name match across the event information. The February-versus-December discrepancy in different listings makes it particularly useful to verify the current event details before entering personal information or booking travel. The same check should include the distance, start time and rules for the different categories.
How to interpret differences between listings
Race calendars and sports directories may retain details from previous editions, include provisional information or update only some fields. In this case, the difference between a February date and a December date, together with the changing edition number, makes it necessary to separate identifiable details from information that has not yet been consistently confirmed. The town and pavilion appear consistently; the ordinal and some timing details do not.
The date of Dec. 21, 2026, has been supplied as confirmed for this event. By contrast, the listing that gives Feb. 15 belongs to a separate reference and should not be combined with the newer date as though both describe the same schedule. For planning purposes, December is the available date, while other operational details should be treated as pending publication or a consistent update.
The discrepancy also affects how the race is presented: searches may show the name attached to VII, while other results call it VIII. The detailed listing states that it is edition eight, but that single inconsistency means the Roman numeral cannot be treated as fully verified. The safest identification remains the 2026 race in Fontcoberta, with the pavilion as its listed start and finish point.
A local race whose listing still needs key details
The 2026 edition has a stated date, a town, a start and finish venue, and some information about its profile and services. That is enough to identify the general nature of the event, but not to complete a full race plan. The biggest gap is the distance, followed by the map, start time, detailed categories and registration conditions.
The available details describe a popular trail race in Fontcoberta, with 120 meters of announced positive elevation gain and a finish at the same pavilion where the start is expected to take place. The specific route and competitive conditions have not yet been publicly defined in the available information, so any assessment of difficulty, duration or equipment should wait until those details are published.
The event is scheduled for Dec. 21, 2026, according to the confirmed date supplied for this edition. Consistent listings will be the next key step: an updated event notice should clarify the edition number, set out the course and open registration with verifiable fees and deadlines. Until then, Fontcoberta has a recognizable race on the calendar, but several details remain to be settled.

Races2 months agoValencia 2026: dates, registration and 21K guide
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoAsics Gel-Roadmiles 3 for men: review and current price
Races2 months agoValencia Marathon 2026: entry, ballot and course
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoAsics Gel Sonoma 8 Gore-Tex: complete analysis for trail and rain
- Sneakers2 months ago
Saucony Endorphin Pro 4: full review and verdict
News4 months agoStrava API 2026: what changes for clubs, challenges and runner apps?
Reviews and Comparisons4 months agoNike Alphafly 3: opinions, sensations, and real key points
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoNew Balance TWO WXY V5: analysis, price, and performance
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoUnder Armour running shoes review 2025-2026: models and key features
Sports Equipment3 months agoShoe sizes in cm: a clear guide to getting the right fit for your footwear
- Sneakers2 months ago
Neutral running shoes with lots of cushioning: the best of 2026
News3 months agoWhere is the Hoka brand from and why was it born in France









