Races
Salou’s 2027 Challenge: dates, distances and the new format
Salou’s main triathlon switches to 100 kilometres, with relay entries and family running events across the weekend.

Salou’s Challenge will hold its 12th edition on May 9, 2027, a Sunday, with a significant change to its main race: the T100 format replaces the previous middle distance. Athletes will swim 2 kilometres, cycle 80 and run 18, competing individually or in relay teams. The weekend programme begins on Saturday, May 8, with family and children’s running events.
The Costa Daurada event also retains its Short Distance option, advertised as a 1-kilometre swim, a 54-kilometre bike ride and a 9-kilometre run. Registration for the 2027 edition has opened, although the information provided does not establish a current entry fee, a start time or time limits. Those details need to be distinguished from the distances and dates explicitly stated in the event announcement.
The change matters both to runners moving into triathlon and to athletes already familiar with Salou. The final leg no longer follows the usual half-marathon benchmark and instead becomes an 18-kilometre run. This is more than an administrative adjustment: it changes how effort is distributed across the disciplines and means results from this edition need their own context, rather than direct comparisons with performances over a different course.
The host town is Salou, in the province of Tarragona, and the event belongs to the Challenge Family calendar. Its coastal setting and combination of beach, road and seafront promenade shape the racing experience. For athletes from the Valencian Community, it is an event outside their region, on the Catalan coast, with appeal beyond the total distance: there is also a team entry option and short running races the day before.
Distinguishing Saturday from Sunday avoids a common source of confusion when checking event calendars. The 2-kilometre Family Run and 1-kilometre Kids Run are listed for May 8, 2027; the individual and relay T100 races, along with Short Distance, are listed for May 9. An event start date of May 8 therefore does not mean the main triathlon takes place on that Saturday.
Not every format visible on the event website belongs to the forthcoming edition. The page still contains references to an aquathlon dated 2026 and to open-water swimming, running activities and shorter formats from 2023 and 2024. These are references to earlier seasons, not confirmation of the 2027 programme. Presenting them as current events would artificially expand a schedule that still needs to be read with close attention to its dates.
The new T100 adds up to exactly 100 kilometres across three disciplines in its nominal description: 2 in the water, 80 on the bike and 18 on foot. The name describes that format, but does not by itself mean Salou shares every feature of other competitions using a similar distance. The event’s announced affiliation is with Challenge Family; any specific qualification or participation conditions must come from this edition’s rules.
It is therefore inaccurate to describe the 2027 edition solely as a Half or 70.3 triathlon, as some external listings still do. The traditional reference for that format is a 1.9-kilometre swim, a 90-kilometre bike ride and a run of approximately 21.1 kilometres. Salou now advertises a different combination. That distinction affects race selection, training and the expectations of athletes who took part in previous editions.
Compared with those traditional distances, the advertised format adds 100 metres of swimming while removing 10 kilometres of cycling and approximately 3.1 kilometres of running. The total drops from around 113 kilometres to 100. However, a shorter distance does not automatically make a race easy: pace, sea conditions, wind and effort management still influence a day linking three sports without a full recovery between them.
The available material also contains small differences between the headline distances and one registration listing. The latter describes the T100 as having an 80.1-kilometre bike leg and a 17.8-kilometre run; Short Distance is listed with 53.4 kilometres of cycling and 9.3 of running. There is no need to turn that discrepancy into false certainty. The figures of 80 and 18, or 54 and 9, describe the announced formats; the final route requires the specific 2027 documentation.
This distinction is particularly important for athletes calculating their splits. A runner can estimate a pace over 18 kilometres, but the final measured distance, number of laps and transition layout all affect the result. The race guide still pending should provide the operational detail. Until then, the supplied information does not offer sufficient grounds to state how many swimming, cycling or running laps there will be, or where each aid station will stand.
The swimming leg is located around Llevant beach. It provides the coastal opening to a race that then changes both its scenery and its muscular demands. The image of an accessible beach should not be mistaken for guaranteed conditions: waves and the state of the water can vary, and the advertised distance does not predict the actual difficulty of swimming among other competitors that day.
An external listing mentions a water temperature of 21 degrees Celsius, but that is not a reliable forecast for May 9, 2027. Nor does it establish whether wetsuits will be compulsory, optional or prohibited. The temperature measured on race day and the applicable rules are what matter. Publishing a historical or generic figure as though it described the water that morning would give participants reassurance that the available information cannot support.
The bike course is associated with the Salou–Tarragona corridor, described in the event’s communications as fast. Other listings highlight its flat profile and closure to traffic, although they mix information from different seasons. For 2027, the final route and operating arrangements need to be set out in that edition’s documentation. A road that favours sustained speed does not remove the effects of wind or replace the sporting rules governing the leg.
The run is once again linked to the Mediterranean seafront. For a publication focused on running, this is one of Salou’s most interesting features: running beside the sea after swimming and cycling is not the same as starting a road race on fresh legs. The promenade provides a recognisable visual reference, but accumulated fatigue changes how each kilometre feels and how well an athlete can maintain pace.
The T100’s final 18 kilometres are shorter than the 21.0975 kilometres of a half marathon. That comparison helps describe the length of the leg, not its sporting equivalence. A time achieved in Salou depends on what happened earlier in the water and on the bike, as well as the transitions. It should not automatically be presented as comparable to a standalone road-race result or a performance on a certified course.
At that stage, the bike effort becomes a bill paid on the run. Pushing too hard can make the first kilometres on foot feel comfortable before the closing stages become difficult. Managing the earlier effort explains why triathlon preparation is not simply a matter of adding together three separate performances. The ability to run after cycling has a role of its own, distinct from an athlete’s performance in a 10K or half marathon.
The relay format offers a different relationship with that final leg. A team can divide the disciplines among its members, allowing a runner to complete the relay’s running segment without also swimming and cycling. This is a relevant entry point for road-running specialists. However, the exact team composition, member requirements and handover procedure must follow the rules rather than assumptions.
The experience takes on a different meaning, too. An individual entrant completes all three legs; in a relay, the result depends on shared responsibility and coordination at the handovers. The team’s advertised distances are the same as the T100’s. This option does not turn the triathlon into a separately available 18-kilometre running race, nor does it establish that every possible team arrangement will be permitted.
Short Distance remains a substantial challenge despite its name. Its nominal distances add up to 64 kilometres in total: 1 swimming, 54 cycling and 9 running. It is shorter than the main race, but does not match the usual Olympic format of a 1.5-kilometre swim, a 40-kilometre bike ride and a 10-kilometre run. The 54 kilometres on the bike mean the whole event needs to be considered, not just its final running leg.
For someone coming from 5K or 10K races, those 9 kilometres after cycling may look familiar while representing an entirely new demand. Running comfortably does not, on its own, demonstrate the ability to swim in open water or handle a bike during competition. The choice between Short Distance and T100 needs to reflect experience across all three disciplines, without treating the shorter option as an automatic beginner’s event.
Saturday operates on a completely different scale. The 2-kilometre Family Run and 1-kilometre Kids Run put running at the centre of the day before the triathlon, without the swimming and cycling legs included in Sunday’s races. They are separate activities within the same weekend. The available information does not specify ages, start times, accompanying-adult rules or prices that would allow participation to be described more precisely.
Those races give accompanying families a reason to engage with the programme, but do not mean every age group or family situation is accommodated in the same way. The children’s race requirements need to be stated explicitly. Equally, older descriptions of junior courses, social activities or additional formats should not be carried over to 2027 when the current announcement confirms only certain names, distances and dates.
For entries, the official information already announces that 2027 registration has opened, with a launch promotion offering discounts of up to €30. A related news item places the opening on Wednesday, June 3, with promotional pricing for 48 hours. That announcement describes a specific window, not a permanent reduction. Later references to other campaigns mean it cannot be used as proof that the same saving remains available.
The verifiable financial figure is therefore a maximum discount of €30 under the cited promotion, not the entry fee. The supplied information does not contain a complete price table for individual T100 entries, relays, Short Distance, Family Run or Kids Run. Without those amounts, it is impossible to calculate what each participant pays or compare final prices between formats, and inventing a range from earlier editions would not be reliable.
An external listing mentions club discounts of up to 30%, but its content retains outdated events and format names. That percentage is not enough to establish a current benefit for 2027. The website does show a club section, confirming that dedicated information exists but not its present financial terms. The same applies to cancellation policies, entry transfers and possible extras: verifiable details are missing, so no specific rule can be attributed to them.
The start time is also absent from the supplied information. The programme and race guide are essential for understanding accreditation, bib collection, transition access and the start of each format. The lack of a confirmed timetable affects travel arrangements, particularly for athletes racing on Sunday who may need to complete procedures beforehand. It should not be assumed that everything can be handled on race morning.
The same principle applies to cut-offs and technical rules. The information here does not provide race time limits for swimming, cycling or the finish, or the complete documentation requirements for starting. A generic reference to middle-distance triathlon cannot fill those gaps. Licence, insurance, equipment, outside-assistance and cycling requirements must come from the rules published for this edition and format.
Salou’s Passeig Jaume I is a central reference for the event’s surroundings and the organiser’s contact details. However, that address alone does not establish the exact 2027 start, finish or bib-collection location. Llevant beach and the waterfront help place the event within the town; specific access points, traffic restrictions and facility locations require an updated operational map.
For participants travelling from the Valencian Community, logistics have two layers: reaching Salou and moving around a town hosting several activities across the weekend. Transporting the bicycle adds a requirement that does not arise in a conventional running race. The distance between accommodation, accreditation and transition may matter more than a sea view, particularly when pre-race tasks involve carrying bulky equipment.
The presence of accommodation, bike-rental and nutrition sections on the event website shows that the organiser gathers practical information on those subjects. It does not demonstrate that they are included in the entry fee. Nor does it confirm availability, prices or booking conditions. A realistic weekend budget needs to separate race entry, travel, accommodation and equipment needs, without turning mentioned services into guaranteed benefits for every participant.
Salou’s international reach is part of its wider context. Information about the 2026 edition reports more than 1,200 participants from 50 countries and records victories by Will Draper and Elisabetta Curridori. These are facts about a previous edition, not 2027 entry numbers or results. They do not establish who will start the next race, either: the standing of an earlier edition cannot replace a confirmed participant list.
The Challenge Family connection may prompt interest in points, prizes or access to other competitions, including The Championship. The website displays related sections, but the supplied content does not specify 2027 qualification criteria, prize amounts or category allocations. Claiming an automatic place or a particular number of qualifiers from Salou would go beyond the evidence. Those incentives can only be described once their conditions for this edition are established.
The essentials of the next event are already defined: family races on May 8, triathlons on May 9 and a main format that changes the balance between water, cycling and running. The switch to the T100 format is what sets this edition apart. Prices, schedules and final course details will complete its profile, but they do not change the fundamental difference: in Salou, the last effort of 2027 will be measured over an 18-kilometre run, not a half marathon.
You may also like: TriTour in Salou 2027: date, distances and registration.
Where to stay in Salou
Hotels available 7–10 May 2027.
Affiliate links: if you book through this map we earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

Races2 months agoValencia 2026: dates, registration and 21K guide
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoAsics Gel-Roadmiles 3 for men: review and current price
Races2 months agoValencia Marathon 2026: entry, ballot and course
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoAsics Gel Sonoma 8 Gore-Tex: complete analysis for trail and rain
- Sneakers2 months ago
Saucony Endorphin Pro 4: full review and verdict
News4 months agoStrava API 2026: what changes for clubs, challenges and runner apps?
Reviews and Comparisons4 months agoNike Alphafly 3: opinions, sensations, and real key points
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoNew Balance TWO WXY V5: analysis, price, and performance
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoUnder Armour running shoes review 2025-2026: models and key features
Sports Equipment3 months agoShoe sizes in cm: a clear guide to getting the right fit for your footwear
News3 months agoWhere is the Hoka brand from and why was it born in France
- Sneakers2 months ago
Neutral running shoes with lots of cushioning: the best of 2026









