Races
Zamudio prepares a trail day with five race formats
The Biscay event combines two distances with options for running, hiking or taking part with a dog.

Zamudio will host a new stage of the Bizkaia Kopa Trail on Dec. 19, 2026, with mountain options for running, hiking and taking part with a dog. Available information lists two distances, 10 and 20 kilometers, and five formats: trail running, hiking and canicross, bringing competitive and noncompetitive participation together on the same day.
The date is confirmed, and the event appears on the Biscay mountain-running calendar. Some listings give a 9 a.m. start and advertise registration from 11 euros, although those details may vary by format or as organizers update information. The exact course, elevation profile, start location and full registration conditions are not included in the reference information consulted.
A Bizkaia Kopa Trail stage in Zamudio
The Zamudio event is part of the Bizkaia Kopa Trail, a popular mountain-running circuit that, according to information published for this edition, consists of six stages. It is therefore not a standalone date on the calendar: its competitive formats are linked to individual and team standings within the series.
The event is scheduled for Saturday, Dec. 19, 2026. Its position on the calendar, just before winter, places it at a time of year when ground conditions can change quickly. In a mountain race, rain, mud and daylight hours shape the experience more than they do on an urban course, although no weather forecast or final course description is provided here.
Zamudio is in Biscay, within the metropolitan area of Bilbao. The available listing identifies the municipality as the venue but does not specify a start and finish address or site. That detail matters both to visitors and to anyone arranging transport, so it is worth distinguishing the host town from the exact venue, which is not yet detailed in the information consulted.
Date, schedule and details to verify
The announced date is Dec. 19, 2026, and several calendars place the event in Zamudio. An event listing says activities would begin at 9 a.m., but that may refer to the overall start rather than a simultaneous start for every format. Without a complete official schedule, it is not possible to confirm whether starts will be staggered or how much time will separate them.
Registration has also been listed as closing on Dec. 17, 2026, two days before the race. That date appears on an event platform, while other listings direct participants to the organizer’s website for terms and fees. Because those sources provide different levels of detail, the date should be treated as the deadline shown on the listing, not a guarantee that every place or format will remain available until then.
The verifiable information establishes the main details — municipality, day and distances — but leaves practical questions unanswered. No start address, elevation profile or complete rulebook is provided. Before traveling, participants should check official organizer updates for changes to the schedule, access, required equipment or format-specific instructions.
10- and 20-kilometer trail races
The two announced mountain races are a 10-kilometer trail and a 20-kilometer trail. The shorter distance offers a more limited option for runners who want to complete a mountain course without taking on the longer event. The 20-kilometer race requires more time on the move and more careful management of pace, hydration and energy, although the actual difficulty will depend on elevation and terrain, details not specified in the available reference.
The kilometer count does not tell the whole story. Ten kilometers on fast tracks is not the same as 10 kilometers with sustained climbs, technical sections or mud. The same applies to the 20-kilometer course: without its profile and exact surface, it would be unwise to assign it a specific difficulty level. A final technical course sheet will be needed to assess the route properly, especially when comparing it with other mountain races.
Registration listings use the names Trail 10K and Trail 20K. These are the competitive running options and are distinct from the two hiking formats. The available information does not say whether the course is a loop, whether the distances share sections or where aid stations are located. Those details matter when planning the day, but they should not be treated as confirmed without official rules or a course map.
Mountain hikes and canicross
The program is not limited to running. It includes a 10-kilometer mountain hike and a 20-kilometer mountain hike, described as noncompetitive formats. That distinction changes the purpose of the day: participants focus on completing the route on foot rather than competing for a ranking as they would in the trail races.
The fifth option is a 10-kilometer canicross event, a running format with a dog that also appears in event listings. Its inclusion gives the day a distinctive element, but taking part with an animal requires specific safety and conduct rules. The information consulted does not cover harnesses, leashes, veterinary checks, start procedures or overtaking arrangements; those rules should be confirmed in the edition’s regulations, not inferred from the format’s name.
Together, the five options — 10K and 20K trail races, 10K and 20K hikes, and canicross — broaden the range of participants. They do not all involve the same intensity or format, and choosing among them means checking the conditions published by the organizers. Sharing a date and venue does not necessarily mean the formats have the same schedule, route or registration system.
Registration and advertised price
An event platform advertises entries from 11 euros for the Zamudio event and lists five formats. The wording from indicates a starting price, not a single fee for every route. The final amount may depend on the format, registration date or included services, and the available information is not enough to reconstruct a complete price table.
The same listing gives Dec. 17, 2026, as the registration deadline. Another listing advises checking the official website because prices and deadlines depend on the organizers. The reference information does not provide an explicit official web address or detail possible surcharges, price changes or refund policies. The 11-euro figure should therefore be read as the starting price publicized by a registration channel, subject to confirmation before registering.
There is also a mention that registrations during race week may be restricted, but the available text is incomplete and does not clarify which formats are affected or the precise closing date. The most reliable approach is to check the current status of each distance in the registration form. A starting price, an announced deadline and an available place are separate facts and should not be treated as interchangeable.
What is known about the course and what remains unpublished
The general description presents the event as a trail and mountain race in the Zamudio area. That identifies the type of terrain but does not replace a course map. No cumulative elevation, breakdown of tracks and trails, paved sections or checkpoint locations are provided. The precise start and finish venue is also not identified.
Those gaps matter to anyone assessing difficulty. In the mountains, two 20-kilometer routes can offer very different experiences: one may be gradual and runnable, while another is steeper and more technical. Elevation gain, trail width and ground conditions help participants judge both pace and equipment. Until a technical sheet is released, distance is the only quantitative course measure that can be treated as confirmed.
The mountain-hike designation suggests that the 10- and 20-kilometer hiking options take place in the same general setting as the races, but it does not prove that they use identical routes. Organizers may use shared routes or separate variations; only an official map can clarify that. The same caution applies to canicross, whose route and specific rules are not developed in the information consulted.
How to assess the formats before choosing
The choice between 10 and 20 kilometers should not rely only on the number printed on a race bib. For trail running, previous experience on paths, estimated duration and the ability to sustain effort on uneven terrain all matter. For hiking, walking pace and available time count too, particularly if the route has long climbs. Without an official profile, it is not possible to recommend a distance based on difficulty.
Participants running with a dog will need to check the specific conditions for the animal and learn the rules for starts and safety. Sharing narrow trails requires care: a poorly managed pass can affect the runner, the dog and other participants. The regulations should clarify entry requirements and permitted equipment, details that are missing from the available summary.
It is also useful to distinguish the event’s popular character from its competitive component. The two trail races and canicross appear to be linked to rankings, while the hikes are described as noncompetitive. Being part of a league may interest people who follow the circuit, but it does not automatically make every format a scored event. The specific scoring system and categories should be checked in the edition’s rules.
A mountain day on the winter calendar
The event falls near the end of the year, when many runners balance season goals with more social races. December can bring cool temperatures and wet ground in Biscay, although conditions on race day cannot be predicted months in advance. A sensible approach is to check the forecast close to the date and match clothing and footwear to the published route, rather than to a generic idea of mountain conditions.
For visitors from outside Zamudio, knowing the municipality does not by itself solve the logistics. The start address, parking, public transport and bib-pickup time are not included in the available details. Once the schedule is published, those elements will help with travel planning and prevent confusion between the town center and the event site. The venue municipality is confirmed, but the operational map still requires official information.
Other Biscay races on the calendar may help runners compare dates and choose goals, but they should not be mistaken for events run by the same organizer. Reference listings mention races in other towns in the province and elsewhere in the Basque Country; those are separate events. For Zamudio, the essential information remains its own event sheet: route, format-specific schedules, rules and current registration status.
Confirmed details and limits of the available information
The firm basis for the event is clear: it will take place in Zamudio on Dec. 19, 2026, with 10- and 20-kilometer distances in running and hiking formats, plus canicross. The event is part of the Bizkaia Kopa Trail, described as a six-stage circuit. Those details answer the main questions about date, venue and general format.
Other details appear on registration platforms, including a 9 a.m. start, a price from 11 euros and a deadline of Dec. 17. They are useful references, but should be given the appropriate level of certainty: they do not replace a complete official announcement and may change. There is also no start address, mapped route or elevation description in the information available.
For a mountain race, a technical event sheet is not a minor detail. It helps participants assess difficulty, plan travel and understand what each registration includes. Until those elements are published, a responsible description separates confirmed details from outstanding ones: date, Zamudio and the formats on one side; course, staggered schedules and specific rules on the other. That lets runners add the December event to their calendars without attributing features that have not been documented.
The event awaits its final course map
The Zamudio stage brings together three ways to experience the mountains on the same date: running, hiking and taking part with a dog. The range of distances and formats may appeal to different participants, from those aiming to compete over 20 kilometers to those who prefer a hike or shorter distance. The official course will be what makes it possible to assess the event’s sporting demands.
For now, the confirmed date and five-format structure provide enough information to place the event on the calendar, but not to anticipate every detail of the experience. Once the route, elevation, format-specific schedules and registration conditions are known, participants will be able to compare options and plan more precisely. In a mountain race, the map is not an accessory: it is the terrain turned into information.
Where to stay in Zamudio
Hotels available 17–20 December 2026.
Affiliate links: if you book through this map we earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

Races2 months agoValencia 2026: dates, registration and 21K guide
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoAsics Gel-Roadmiles 3 for men: review and current price
Races2 months agoValencia Marathon 2026: entry, ballot and course
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoAsics Gel Sonoma 8 Gore-Tex: complete analysis for trail and rain
- Sneakers2 months ago
Saucony Endorphin Pro 4: full review and verdict
News4 months agoStrava API 2026: what changes for clubs, challenges and runner apps?
Reviews and Comparisons4 months agoNike Alphafly 3: opinions, sensations, and real key points
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoNew Balance TWO WXY V5: analysis, price, and performance
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoUnder Armour running shoes review 2025-2026: models and key features
Sports Equipment3 months agoShoe sizes in cm: a clear guide to getting the right fit for your footwear
- Sneakers2 months ago
Neutral running shoes with lots of cushioning: the best of 2026
News3 months agoWhere is the Hoka brand from and why was it born in France









