Races
Algar de Palancia Trail 2026: date, price and 20K details
The Valencian trail race brings together two distances, with a 9 a.m. start; here are the confirmed details for December.

Algar de Palancia will host a new edition of its mountain race on Sunday, Dec. 13, 2026, with a 20-kilometer long course and a shorter 11-kilometer race. Both are scheduled to start at 9 a.m. from the municipal swimming pool facilities, according to information published for the event. The long race has a maximum time limit of 4 hours and 30 minutes and a checkpoint at kilometer 11, while the shorter distance has a three-hour limit.
Entry to the 20K costs 24 euros, plus a 0.50-euro platform fee. Registration is scheduled to close at midnight on Dec. 10, unless the participant limit is reached sooner. The event combines mountain paths and tracks and is set up as a competitive race with rankings and trophies. The detailed route and total elevation gain for the 2026 edition are not specified in the available information, so figures that have not been published should not be treated as confirmed.
A mountain event with two distances
The 2026 event is the sixth edition of the long trail and the fourth edition of the Sprint Trail. The program includes a 20-kilometer course and a shorter 11-kilometer distance. The two races share their start and finish, although their time limits, aid stations and demands differ. The race is mainly run on mountain paths and tracks; it is not an urban road race, and pace can vary significantly with the terrain.
The long course is intended for runners taking on a longer day in the mountains, with a maximum time of 4 hours and 30 minutes. Participants must also reach the checkpoint at kilometer 11 within 2 hours and 15 minutes. That intermediate cutoff matters as much as the final limit: under the published conditions, missing it may lead to a runner being withdrawn from the race at the organizers’ discretion.
The Sprint Trail allows three hours to complete the 11 kilometers, a window the rules describe as suitable even for those taking part at a walking pace. That does not remove the need to prepare for uneven terrain, nor does it make the distance a casual stroll: climbs, descents and trail conditions all affect the effort. Distance alone cannot determine how difficult a course will be, especially when the elevation profile and final route are not specified in the available listing.
Date, start time and location
The race is scheduled for Sunday, Dec. 13, 2026. Both the 20-kilometer and 11-kilometer events are due to start at 9 a.m., with the municipal swimming pool facilities in Algar de Palancia listed as the planned start and finish area. The event listing also identifies the municipality as the venue, while the race rules place the meeting point at the municipal site.
The organizers reserve the right to change the start and finish areas if weather conditions are adverse. In a mountain race, that is not a minor detail: rain can affect track conditions, increase the risk on slippery sections and require logistical changes. The planned location is the municipal pool, but runners should check the race’s official communications for any changes before travelling.
The finish area is scheduled to remain open until 1:30 p.m. That aligns with the 4½-hour maximum for the 20K and leaves three hours for the shorter distance, although individual times will depend on the final route and conditions on race day. The event information says both races are competitive and will have rankings, so timekeeping is part of the day alongside recreational participation.
Registration and entry fees
The published fee for the long course is 24 euros, plus a 0.50-euro charge for using the registration platform. The listed fee for the 11-kilometer race is 18 euros, with the same platform charge. The reference total for the 20K is therefore 24.50 euros, before any other conditions that may be shown during registration.
Registration is scheduled to run from Sept. 21 to midnight on Dec. 10, 2026. The organizers have set a maximum of 300 participants and say same-day registration will not be available. The published closing date does not guarantee a place will remain available until December if the cap is reached first; availability should be checked in the registration system.
The rules allow a full refund for a medically documented illness or injury, provided a medical certificate is submitted by Nov. 30, 2026. They also allow a change of entrant if a formal request containing both participants’ details is submitted before that date. Refunds for these reasons will not be accepted after Nov. 30, according to the published terms, so the current rules should be reviewed before making a change or requesting repayment.
A route of mountain paths and tracks, with details still pending
The available description says most of the course runs along mountain paths and tracks. That indicates the type of surface, but it is not enough to accurately predict the route profile. The available 2026 information does not include the positive elevation gain, final map, specific checkpoints or details of the climbs. The previous edition may offer context, but its details should not automatically be applied to a route that can change from year to year.
The difference between 20 and 21 kilometers is also worth noting. The event is advertised as a 20K, although mountain races often round or label a course by its approximate distance. The official figure should be understood as the distance published by the organizers, not as a guarantee that a personal GPS device will record exactly the same number. On mountain terrain, the marked course and regulations take precedence over a sports watch’s instant reading.
The organizers may amend routes and rules, with a commitment to publish changes through their official channels. A change for safety, environmental protection or weather could affect both distance and difficulty. Until a specific 2026 profile is released, it is more accurate to describe the event as a 20-kilometer race over mountain terrain than to assign an elevation figure or a precise difficulty rating. That distinction helps runners plan without turning an estimate into a confirmed fact.
Aid stations and hydration equipment
For the 20-kilometer course, the organizers have announced two solid-and-liquid aid stations and another station with liquids only, in addition to the finish-area service. The Sprint Trail will have one solid-and-liquid aid station, as well as refreshments at the finish. The available information does not give the stations’ locations, so it is not possible to say which kilometers they will be on or how far apart they will be.
The organizers will not provide cups at aid stations as part of a waste-reduction measure. Each participant must bring their own drinking container. In practice, runners will need to plan how to carry a collapsible cup, bottle or hydration system that complies with the rules and suits their needs. Being able to drink between checkpoints becomes more important on the long course, although the announced aid stations provide useful reference points for planning.
The container should make it possible to drink quickly and stow it without hindering movement on narrow or uneven ground. No specific requirements for capacity, shape or material have been published, so it would be wrong to attribute conditions to the rules that are not included in them. The essential requirement is clear: cups will not be available at aid stations. Bringing a personal container is part of the equipment runners must have ready before reaching the start.
Bib collection and pre-race schedule
Bib numbers and timing chips can be collected from Tuesday, Dec. 8, through noon on Saturday at ALS Sport Valencia, at 11 Manuel de Falla St. Collection is also scheduled in Algar de Palancia on Saturday, Dec. 12, from 6 to 8 p.m., and on race day from 7:15 to 8:45 a.m. Participants must present identification confirming their identity to collect their race materials.
Race-morning collection ends 15 minutes before the scheduled start. That margin makes it important to account for travel, parking and possible waits, particularly because both races share the start area. The rules say two tables will be set up, one for each event, to make bib distribution easier. The chip and bib are personal and non-transferable once assigned, under the published conditions.
Whenever possible, collecting the bib in the days beforehand avoids leaving it until the last moment. The race will not accept same-day entries, although it plans to distribute bibs that morning to people who have already registered. That distinction helps prevent confusion: the morning collection window is for picking up race materials, not signing up. Before travelling, it is also sensible to check for changes to the collection times or location.
Minimum age, categories and awards
The minimum age for the 20- and 11-kilometer events is 14. Participants under 16 must provide permission signed by a parent or guardian. The rules also state that registered athletes may be affiliated or unaffiliated, with no distinction based on sex, race or nationality. For minors, registration requires the documentation specified by the organizers, as well as careful consideration of whether the course suits their experience and physical condition.
The published categories are open, from age 14; senior, ages 14 to 39; veterans, ages 40 to 49; masters, age 50 and older; and local, from age 14. The overlap between the open and senior age ranges indicates that open functions as a general category, while the others group participants by age. A participant’s age on race day determines their category under the published rules.
Three trophies are planned for each category in both the men’s and women’s rankings, and awards cannot be combined. Local status is given to people registered as residents of the municipality; the 2026 information also mentions a ham for the club with the most participants. These awards are part of the competitive side of the event, but they do not change the basic safety requirements or cutoff times that apply to each course.
Safety, the environment and withdrawing from the race
The rules require respect for the environment and other participants. Littering or damaging the area may lead to disqualification, a particularly relevant rule for a race that crosses a protected natural area. Failing to help another runner who needs medical assistance, missing checkpoints, leaving the marked course or failing to display the bib visibly on the front are also listed as grounds for disqualification.
Anyone who withdraws must tell a course marshal or the organizers. Simply leaving the route and making their own way back to the start is not enough: notifying the team helps confirm that the participant is safe and prevents search crews from looking for them unnecessarily. The medical team and organizers may remove any runner whose condition they believe endangers their health or someone else’s. Safety takes priority over pace and rankings.
The organizers say they have accident insurance for runners and that civil liability rests with Algar de Palancia City Council, according to the published information. The rules also state that they may be changed and that updates will be shared through official channels. At an outdoor event, checking for updates before the start is part of preparation: weather, terrain and safety decisions can alter details announced earlier.
Algar de Palancia in December
The event takes place in December, when daylight hours are shorter and weather conditions can change quickly. That does not predict what conditions will be like on Dec. 13, but it is a reason not to assume the weather will be stable simply because the event is a mountain race. Rain, mud, wind or a cold morning can affect effort and grip on the tracks. A forecast close to race day will be more useful than one made months in advance.
Algar de Palancia lies inland in Valencia province, in an area where paths and hills form part of the everyday landscape. The race offers a sporting way to cover that terrain, but the available 2026 information does not identify specific landmarks or provide a complete public route. Keeping that distinction clear avoids confusing the general location with an official route description and helps keep the information reliable while more precise details are awaited.
The 9 a.m. start and 1:30 p.m. finish-area closing time frame a full morning of activity for runners and spectators. The municipal facilities are the planned hub for the start and finish, as well as the final refreshment area. If weather causes changes, the organizers reserve the right to move these locations. The municipal venue is the confirmed reference, although the final location should be checked in race updates.
What to check before travelling
The published information confirms the main details: date, start time, distances, time limits, fees, registration deadline and bib collection schedule. Other important points for assessing the challenge have yet to be specified: elevation profile, route map, aid-station locations and any changes to the start area. These details should not be filled in with assumptions based on previous editions, because each event can adjust its course and logistics.
It is also worth checking that places remain available and reviewing the current registration conditions. The stated 20K fee is 24 euros plus a 0.50-euro platform charge; the shorter distance costs 18 euros, with the same additional charge. The rules set Dec. 10 as the closing date but cap participation at 300. The final amount and confirmed place are those shown during registration.
The organizers may publish updates about weather, logistics, rules and the route. The useful summary for runners is clear: the 20K starts at 9 a.m., has a cutoff at kilometer 11 after 2 hours and 15 minutes, and a total limit of 4½ hours. The confirmed date is Dec. 13, 2026; details that have not yet been released should be checked through the race’s channels as the event approaches.
A race that combines competition with care for the mountains
The Algar de Palancia trail is presented as a competition with two distances, age categories and awards, but its identity also depends on the terrain it crosses. The requirement not to litter or damage the area is not just decorative: in a mountain race, the impact of each participant adds up along shared paths and natural areas. Looking after the course is part of the sporting experience, alongside passing checkpoints and following safety instructions.
For runners choosing the long distance, the intermediate cutoff and overall time limit define the boundaries of the day; Sprint Trail participants have a wider three-hour window to complete the 11 kilometers. In both races, bringing a personal drinking container and collecting a bib within the scheduled hours are straightforward requirements that help shared logistics run smoothly. Preparation, however, should be tailored to the final profile once it is published.
The next edition already has a confirmed date and start time, but a complete understanding of the route will be essential to assess its difficulty accurately. Until the map and elevation gain are released, the most reliable approach is to stick to confirmed details and avoid treating information from previous years as a promise for 2026. On a mountain race, knowing the terrain accurately is also a way to run responsibly.
Where to stay in Algar de Palancia
Hotels available 11–14 December 2026.
Affiliate links: if you book through this map we earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

Races2 months agoValencia 2026: dates, registration and 21K guide
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoAsics Gel-Roadmiles 3 for men: review and current price
Races2 months agoValencia Marathon 2026: entry, ballot and course
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoAsics Gel Sonoma 8 Gore-Tex: complete analysis for trail and rain
- Sneakers2 months ago
Saucony Endorphin Pro 4: full review and verdict
News4 months agoStrava API 2026: what changes for clubs, challenges and runner apps?
Reviews and Comparisons4 months agoNike Alphafly 3: opinions, sensations, and real key points
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoNew Balance TWO WXY V5: analysis, price, and performance
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoUnder Armour running shoes review 2025-2026: models and key features
Sports Equipment3 months agoShoe sizes in cm: a clear guide to getting the right fit for your footwear
- Sneakers2 months ago
Neutral running shoes with lots of cushioning: the best of 2026
News3 months agoWhere is the Hoka brand from and why was it born in France









