Connect with us

Races

Madrid hosts the 45th Akiles Trophy in 2026

The Casa de Campo event offers two distances and fees that vary according to registration date.

Published

on

Corredores populares en el entorno del Lago de la Casa de Campo durante una carrera de diciembre

Plan your race pace

Madrid’s Casa de Campo will once again welcome recreational runners on Sunday, December 6, 2026, when the 45th Akiles Trophy is held. The event will offer two distances, 5 and 10 kilometers, with staggered morning starts. The schedule lists the 5K start at 9:30 a.m. and the 10K at 10 a.m., both in the area around the Casa de Campo lake.

Registration is open, with a stated limit of 2,000 participants. Published fees range from 13 to 17 euros, depending on the distance and registration tier, with platform processing fees added. The race is open to people who will be at least 18 on event day; organizers have said the finish line will close at 11:30 a.m.

A December race by the lake

The event reaches its 45th edition in 2026 and retains its setting around the Casa de Campo lake, one of Madrid’s best-known open spaces. It is organized by Atelier Events and Club de Atletismo Akiles. Its early-December date places it near the end of the popular racing calendar, when mornings are often chilly and daylight changes quickly.

The course starts near the lake, with the finish planned close to the lake’s football field. Those details locate the start and finish but do not describe the full route. Available information does not specify the course profile, elevation, surface types or a kilometer-by-kilometer map, so it would be unwise to assume both distances follow exactly the same circuit or conditions.

Offering two distances gives the morning different rhythms from the outset. The 5K provides a shorter route, while the 10K covers twice the distance within the framework of a popular race. Both take place in Casa de Campo; runners should choose according to the distance they can comfortably manage, rather than focusing only on the start time or price.

Start times, start area and finish cutoff

The published schedule sets the 5K start at 9:30 a.m. and the 10K at 10 a.m. The half-hour gap separates the two races and lets participants focus on their chosen distance. The start is near Casa de Campo lake in Madrid, while the finish will be close to the lake’s football field.

The announced finish cutoff is 11:30 a.m. for both distances. That means the cutoff is two hours after the 5K start and an hour and a half after the 10K start. No intermediate time limits or official minimum pace have been provided, so these calculations should not be treated as an individual pacing rule: the confirmed detail is the finish-line closing time.

Planning the morning means distinguishing between the start time and when participants should arrive in the staging area. The reference information does not specify when start corrals open, how early runners should report or whether they will be assigned by finish time. Those logistical details may be announced later with the organizers’ instructions, so they should not be presented as confirmed in advance.

Registration and prices by distance

Published fees depend on the event and the date registration is completed. For the 10K, the price is 15 euros through September 15, rising to 16 euros from September 16 through October 31, and to 17 euros for the final tier. For the 5K, the corresponding prices are 13, 14 and 15 euros.

Processing fees charged by the registration platform are added to these amounts, meaning the final payment may exceed the listed base price. The price difference between the two distances is two euros in each tier. As with other races using progressive pricing, registering earlier costs less, although the fee is not the only detail worth checking: runners should also review their personal details, selected distance and participation terms before completing payment.

The reference information is not entirely consistent about the registration deadline. One description says entries close at 11:59 p.m. on December 3, 2026, while the platform listing gives December 2 at 11:59 p.m. Both say entries will not be accepted on race day and that the field may fill earlier; given the discrepancy, the date shown in the official registration process should take precedence.

Who can take part and what the rules mean

Participation is limited to people who will be 18 or older on December 6, 2026. Age is assessed on race day, not when registration is completed. The available information also says categories will be assigned by year of birth, regardless of the day and month, a common way for popular races to organize age groups.

Organizers have announced a maximum of 2,000 runners. That cap makes registering within the entry window important, although it does not show how many places remain at any given time. The supplied information also does not specify exact categories, placing awards, transfer policies or refunds for participants who cannot attend; those points should be checked in the current race rules before paying.

According to the published information, trophies and prizes cannot be combined. Each athlete’s category will be determined solely by year of birth. These details matter most to runners competing for a placing, but they also clarify how the event works: entering a race means accepting its rules, so it is important to review the official terms rather than relying only on a short summary of fees or distances.

What the entry includes and how to collect the race pack

Registration includes a bib with a timing chip, which records passage through timing points and provides an official race time. A virtual finisher’s diploma, bag check, medical support, accident and liability insurance, and finish-area refreshments are also listed. The contents of the official race pack may vary, as products and gifts depend on the organizers and participating partners.

The official pack is expected to include a commemorative technical shirt and sponsor gifts, according to the event details provided. Bib, chip and shirt collection will take place at a location and on dates to be announced in advance through official channels. No collection address or hours have yet been confirmed in the available information, so runners should not assume the pack can be collected on race day.

To collect a bib, participants must present their registration confirmation and an official form of identification, according to the published details. Organizers may specify additional requirements in their instructions. Checking the confirmation email and event updates in advance helps avoid arriving without the required documents; it also lets participants verify that the registered name and distance are correct.

The setting and what is known about the course

Casa de Campo offers a broad, green setting unlike a race through central city streets. The lake is a visual landmark and meeting point for the event, although the published information does not include enough technical detail to describe every turn or surface with confidence. There are no verified details on elevation, dirt sections, paved stretches or access restrictions, so any more specific route description would be speculative.

This matters because distance alone does not determine how a race feels. Surface, turns, course width and weather also play a role, especially in an open space in December. The reference information does not include a detailed map, so runners who need to know the exact route will have to wait for official materials or instructions released before race day.

With two separate starts, the event atmosphere may continue for much of the morning: the 5K runners go first, followed half an hour later by the 10K field. Both distances finish near the football field, with a general cutoff at 11:30 a.m. The natural surroundings provide space, but precise details on entrances, parking or transport do not appear in the information available and should not be mistaken for confirmed guidance.

An edition combining tradition with accessible distances

The Akiles Trophy reaches its 45th edition with a format that brings together a shorter race and a 10K. That continuity gives it a recognizable place in Madrid’s running calendar, but a race’s appeal does not rest on age alone: clear information, an orderly start and the experience offered to participants matter too. In this case, the date, location, main start times and tiered prices have been set out.

Having a 5K expands the options for runners who prefer a shorter distance, while the 10K remains a familiar challenge in popular road racing. That variety should not be taken as an indication of ability: the right choice depends on each runner’s preparation and preferences. Both races share age requirements and a participant cap, so runners should make sure they meet the conditions before registering.

The 45th edition will take place on December 6 around the Casa de Campo lake, with starts at 9:30 and 10 a.m. Some practical details, including a course map and bib-collection location, remain to be made public, and the listings consulted give different registration deadlines. In a race where logistics shape the morning as much as the miles, updated official information will be the decisive reference for arriving with a clear plan.

Where to stay in Madrid

Hotels available 5–7 December 2026.

Affiliate links: if you book through this map we earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

Lo más leído