Races
The 2027 University Half Marathon: distances and prices
A popular Madrid event offers three distance options and a 1.5-kilometre walk.

The 47th University Half Marathon will take place on Sunday, March 7, 2027, in Madrid, with the start scheduled for 9:30 a.m. at Glorieta del Cardenal Cisneros. The race has an unusual format: a course of about seven kilometres that can be completed in one, two or three laps, allowing each participant to decide during the event whether to finish or continue.
The event also includes a noncompetitive 1,500-metre walk. Online registration is listed as open, and prices depend on the registration period, with general fees ranging from 12 to 20 euros and discounts for accredited Complutense University students and staff. Online entries incur an additional 0.70-euro processing fee.
A university event for different paces
The event, known as La Carrera para Todos, brings together runners with different goals on the same morning. For some, it may be a first experience in a popular race; for others, an opportunity to assess their fitness over a longer distance. Its most distinctive feature is not simply the range of options, but the ability to choose the distance during the course, without selecting it when registering.
The university name places the event in the area around the Complutense University of Madrid, but the available information presents the race as open to different kinds of participants. Discounted fees are reserved for UCM students and staff who can provide proof of eligibility for the 2026-27 academic year. General registration, by contrast, does not require that status, according to the published fee schedule.
The 2027 edition marks the event’s 47th year, making it one of the capital’s long-running popular races. Its format combines the classic half-marathon distance with shorter alternatives and a walk. That mix lets participants share the start and atmosphere without requiring everyone to take on the same effort or pursue a particular time.
A lap-based course lets runners decide as they go
The course is about seven kilometres long and can be completed in one, two or three laps. The distances listed for this edition are 7,353 metres, 14,188 metres and 21,097 metres. The difference between the rounded figures and exact measurements reflects the fact that each lap is slightly longer than seven kilometres, rather than an exact 7,000-metre loop.
Participants make their choice on the course. When they return to the facilities through the vehicle entrance, they can head toward the finish or continue for another lap. Registration therefore does not require a commitment in advance to 7, 14 or 21 kilometres: the decision depends on how each runner feels and the goal they brought to the start. Flexibility is central to the format, though participants still need to follow the marked route and the organisers’ instructions.
One lap may suit someone new to racing or seeking a shorter distance; two laps offer a middle option, and three complete the 21,097-metre half marathon. These are not separate races on independent courses: all three options use the same circuit. Before starting, participants should remember that each lap adds distance and time on their feet, even though they can finish earlier.
The format may appeal to people who are unsure how they will feel on the day, but it should not be mistaken for an invitation to improvise without preparation. The 14-kilometre option and, especially, the half marathon call for a suitable fitness base. Choosing to continue after one lap can be reasonable; doing so despite increasing pain or significant discomfort is not. Paying attention to how the body feels matters more than reaching a particular distance.
The 1,500-metre walk and the event’s inclusive format
Alongside the race laps, the event advertises a 1,500-metre walk as a noncompetitive option. There is no official timing, so the aim is not to establish rankings or record times, but to offer a shorter and more accessible way to take part. The specific instruction for walkers is to wear their race bib visibly on the front.
This option broadens the event’s appeal: people who do not want to run, or prefer to limit their effort, can still take part. The reference information does not provide further details about the walk’s route, minimum age, whether minors must be accompanied or any additional requirements. Those details should not be assumed; participants should check the race rules and event announcements before attending.
A walk and a race taking place together usually involve different paces and needs around the start area. For this event, the confirmed details for the walk are its distance and noncompetitive status; no separate start time is specified. The published start time for the race is 9:30 a.m., but the available information does not confirm a separate time for the walk.
Start at Glorieta del Cardenal Cisneros
The stated start location is Glorieta del Cardenal Cisneros in Madrid, and the scheduled start time is 9:30 a.m. The event is situated in the city’s university area, although the available material does not specify the finish location, road closures, precise access details or a full course map. It is important to distinguish the confirmed start point from other logistical details that still need to be checked in the official information.
According to the information provided, online registration will remain open until Saturday, March 6, 2027. That is the day before the race and the announced deadline for entering online. The information does not specify whether places may sell out or whether the deadline could change, so the published date should be treated as the planned closing date, not a guarantee that entries will remain available until then.
At an urban race, reaching the start area can take longer than the distance from accommodation or public transport might suggest. However, no official instructions have been provided about bib collection, bag storage, parking, nearby stations, facilities or road closures. The essential confirmed details are limited: Madrid, Glorieta del Cardenal Cisneros and a 9:30 a.m. start. Operational information should be checked with the organisers as the date approaches.
Tiered entry prices and registration costs
Fees vary depending on when registration is completed. For the general category, the first tier was 12 euros through September 30, 2026; from October 1 through December 31, the listed fee is 14 euros. The fee for accredited Complutense University students and staff in the 2026-27 academic year is 13 euros during that period.
The general fee then rises to 15 euros through January 31, 2027, and to 16 euros through February 28. During the same periods, the discounted fees are 14 and 15 euros, respectively. For entries made from March 1 through March 6, the listed price is 20 euros for both categories. The published prices do not include online processing fees.
The organisers add a 0.70-euro processing fee to online entries. As a result, during the tier in effect on October 14, 2026, the online total would be 14.70 euros for general entry and 13.70 euros for those eligible for the university rate, provided the announced terms remain unchanged. In the final tier, the online total would be 20.70 euros. The final price depends on the registration date and proof of eligibility for the discounted fee.
The tiered scale rewards early registration, but its dates make it possible to compare the cost: the difference between the first and final general entry tiers is eight euros. The reference information does not specify which documents will be accepted to prove UCM affiliation, or whether other registration channels carry different charges. To avoid confusion, participants should check the final amount and applicable terms during registration, particularly if applying for the university rate.
Choosing a distance that fits your goal
The 7,353-metre option is the shortest of the three competitive distances. It may suit someone looking to experience a race, run at a controlled pace or return to competition after a break, provided their physical condition allows it. Being the shortest option does not mean participants need to start fast: in a popular race, beginning conservatively can help maintain a comfortable effort and enjoy the kilometres without turning the opening stretch into a speed test.
The 14,188-metre option sits in the middle. It is more demanding than a seven-kilometre race, but falls short of a half marathon. Anyone considering it should think about how regularly they run and how they respond to sustained effort, rather than focusing only on a distance they may have completed once. Gradual progression and recovery are more prudent guides than increasing the distance on impulse on race day.
The longest option covers 21,097 metres, the official half-marathon distance. Taking it on calls for preparation that matches the duration of the effort, as well as a pacing strategy and attention to hydration depending on the conditions. The supplied information does not include a training plan, elevation profile or aid-station details, so those features should not be attributed to the race without confirmation. The distance alone describes the length, not the full difficulty of the course.
Choosing to finish after one or two laps is also part of the advertised flexibility. It can help participants adjust their effort as their sensations change, but it does not replace medical advice if worrying symptoms arise. Anyone with an injury, an illness or concerns about running a long distance should consult a health professional. The event’s open format makes it possible to choose between distances, while personal safety should set the limit.
A March edition with details worth checking
The announced date places the race on March 7, at the beginning of meteorological spring. Conditions in Madrid can vary from year to year and even during the morning, so the calendar cannot guarantee temperatures, rain or wind. Checking the forecast as the event approaches will help participants choose suitable clothing, without treating a seasonal average as a prediction for race day.
It is also worth separating confirmed details from services mentioned by third-party listings without support in the main information. Aid stations, showers, bag storage, timing for each event, age categories, prizes, course certification and accessibility arrangements are not detailed here. Their absence does not prove they will not be available, but it does mean they cannot be presented as confirmed services. The rules for this edition and the organisers’ information are the references for resolving those questions.
The calendar does provide a clear picture of the essentials: a popular race in Madrid, three distances decided through laps and a short walk without an official ranking. The start is scheduled for 9:30 a.m., and prices rise by tier until the announced online registration deadline of March 6, 2027. With those details, participants can consider which option suits them and calculate the cost, including the processing fee and, if applicable, the university discount.
The event’s strength lies in bringing different goals together on the same course, from a single lap to a half marathon. The format means the final distance need not be fixed at registration, but preparation, pacing and the decision to stop still depend on each runner. On a morning shared by runners and walkers, the best choice is the one that fits each person’s experience and physical condition, not necessarily the one that covers the most kilometres.
Where to stay in Madrid
Hotels available 5–8 March 2027.
Affiliate links: if you book through this map we earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

Races2 months agoValencia 2026: dates, registration and 21K guide
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoAsics Gel-Roadmiles 3 for men: review and current price
Races2 months agoValencia Marathon 2026: entry, ballot and course
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoAsics Gel Sonoma 8 Gore-Tex: complete analysis for trail and rain
- Sneakers2 months ago
Saucony Endorphin Pro 4: full review and verdict
News4 months agoStrava API 2026: what changes for clubs, challenges and runner apps?
Reviews and Comparisons4 months agoNike Alphafly 3: opinions, sensations, and real key points
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoNew Balance TWO WXY V5: analysis, price, and performance
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoUnder Armour running shoes review 2025-2026: models and key features
Sports Equipment3 months agoShoe sizes in cm: a clear guide to getting the right fit for your footwear
- Sneakers2 months ago
Neutral running shoes with lots of cushioning: the best of 2026
News3 months agoWhere is the Hoka brand from and why was it born in France








