Races
Ultrahélike in 2027: prices, start times and route in Elche
Elche’s third ultra offers two distances and 2,000 places, with entry and cancellation terms worth checking closely.

The third edition of Ultrahélike will take place in Elche on 27 February 2027, with 50-kilometre and 100-kilometre events. Both will start at Plaza de Baix and finish at Paseo de la Estación. The longer race starts at 08:00 and has a 24-hour time limit; the 50-kilometre event begins at 10:00, with 12 hours allowed to complete the course.
The event offers 2,000 race places: 1,500 for the 100 kilometres and 500 for the 50. The announced entry fees are €90 and €70 respectively. Registration was scheduled to open on 27 June 2026 at 12:00, but that announcement does not establish how many places remain available now. Nor does it confirm that either distance has sold out.
The race is organised by the Cultural and Sports Association of Elche’s Local Police and was presented alongside the municipal sports department. Its approach combines endurance sport with a route through the municipality of Elche. The organisers are retaining the previous edition’s course, preserving the race’s identity without removing the need to consult the final event documentation.
The 100-kilometre event lists 1,150 metres of elevation gain and 11 aid stations. It is the longest option, although it does not contain as much climbing relative to its distance as the shorter race. Its difficulty is not determined by slopes alone: accumulated exertion, stops, food intake and muscular fatigue become increasingly important as the day progresses.
The 50-kilometre course features 900 metres of cumulative ascent and five aid stations. It is around 7.8 kilometres longer than a marathon, but that comparison is incomplete without considering the terrain and climbing. This is not simply an extended road race: changing surfaces and repeated efforts can substantially alter the experience for runners accustomed to maintaining even paces.
The contrast between the distances deserves attention. The 50 kilometres include much of the elevation gain announced for the 100, despite covering half the distance. That means a greater concentration of climbing, not necessarily steeper slopes or greater technical difficulty. Total elevation gain does not reveal where the climbs are, how long they last or what the descents are like; those answers depend on the detailed course profile.
The event is presented as a trail race, so preparation should not be limited to accumulating kilometres on smooth surfaces. The available information does not specify the mix of running surfaces, the proportion of paved terrain or the difficulty of individual sections. It would be inappropriate to name particular paths, technical passages or especially fast stretches without a detailed course description.
Keeping the same course also does not guarantee that every operational detail will remain unchanged. A familiar route can retain its overall shape while still requiring updated instructions about access, marking or participant support. The final course information and organisers’ instructions should guide race logistics, rather than memories or reports from previous years.
Plaza de Baix and Paseo de la Estación place the start and finish at two different locations in Elche. That separation has straightforward but important implications for anyone travelling from Valencia, Alicante or elsewhere: reaching the start does not automatically resolve the journey back after finishing. The supplied information does not confirm transport between the locations, reserved parking or race-number collection times.
The 12-hour and 24-hour limits provide the same mathematical reference for both events: completing the course requires an average speed of approximately 4.17 kilometres per hour. That is 14 minutes and 24 seconds per kilometre, including all elapsed time. It is an illustrative calculation based on distance and the deadline, not a recommended pace or an indication that the race is easy.
The crucial point is that the clock keeps running while participants eat, change clothing or deal with chafing. A prolonged stop uses up some of the available margin and must be compensated for later on the course. The average includes every stop: moving at that speed only while actually travelling would not be enough to finish within the time limit.
This calculation does not replace any intermediate checkpoint deadlines. The supplied documentation confirms the overall time limits but does not detail checkpoint cut-off times or specific conditions for removal from the race along the route. Without those details, runners cannot assume that reaching the finish within 12 or 24 hours is sufficient regardless of when they pass each checkpoint.
For the 100 kilometres, an 08:00 start and a 24-hour maximum put the overall deadline at 08:00 the following day, 28 February. For the 50 kilometres, the deadline is 22:00 on the same Saturday. Both formats may involve running after dark, depending on how long a participant takes; choosing the shorter distance does not guarantee finishing in daylight.
February provides a different setting from a summer ultra, but it cannot tell us the weather on race day. Early-morning cold, rain and temperature changes should be treated as possibilities, not a definitive forecast. The forecast close to race day will be more useful for adjusting clothing and protection than any general description of Elche’s climate.
Choosing between distances is not simply a matter of usual 10K or half-marathon speed. Experience of remaining active for many hours, tolerating food while moving and recovering from prolonged exertion all matter. The 50 kilometres remain an ultra; a generous time limit does not make the event suitable for every level of preparation.
For runners coming from road racing, the biggest change may be letting go of the expectation of a constant pace. Climbs and terrain require effort to be adjusted, and alternating running with walking can be part of sensible race management. Endurance on varied terrain involves elements that a marathon result alone cannot measure: balance, muscular adaptation and the ability to keep moving as fatigue develops.
The 100 kilometres introduce a different scale of exposure. It is not enough to imagine two 50-kilometre races joined together: after many hours, minor discomfort can demand more attention and tolerance of food can change. Previous ultradistance experience helps runners interpret these situations, although it neither removes the risks nor guarantees finishing a particular race. Recent experience matters more than an optimistic expectation.
General preparation for an ultra combines consistency, strength work, recovery and time on terrain resembling the race course. These details do not support prescribing one universal weekly mileage for every participant. A progression suited to the runner is more sensible than copying another person’s training volume, particularly with recent injuries, limited rest or little experience of long distances.
The 11 aid stations on the longer course and five on the shorter one are an important part of the announced support. Their number, however, does not establish the exact distance between them or the food available. Dividing kilometres by the number of stations can create a misleading impression of regular spacing. The location of each aid station is what actually helps assess the stretches requiring self-sufficiency.
The organisers include these supply points, but the reference information does not say whether every station offers the same items or how food and drink options are distributed. For an event lasting many hours, nutrition requires more than expecting to find a particular product. Testing planned foods beforehand helps reduce uncertainty; individual digestive tolerance cannot be inferred from the contents of a runner’s bag.
The same applies to hydration. Requirements vary with exertion, environmental conditions and individual characteristics; there is no fixed amount of water that suits everyone throughout the race. Both insufficient intake and forced excessive drinking can be problematic. Managing fluid intake should draw on training experience and appropriate health advice, not a quantity improvised for this event.
Equipment needs to suit the course, the expected hours of activity and the official requirements. A headtorch becomes relevant when there is a possibility of moving after dark, but the supplied information does not establish which model, battery life or accessories the race requires. The mandatory equipment list, once detailed in the rules, will be the binding reference; a general recommendation is not the same as a race requirement.
Footwear and socks also deserve a less dramatic assessment than the headline distance. An uncomfortable fit at the start can lead to blisters or chafing after hours of use, while a tested choice reduces surprises. Comfort established in training matters more than debuting a shoe because of its reputation. Without knowing every surface, recommending a specific outsole type for this edition would also be premature.
According to the organisers, both entries include accident insurance, medical assistance and physiotherapy services at several points. These are different resources: insurance cover alone does not explain what treatment is provided or its terms. Support during the race does not make it safe to continue with any symptom, nor does it replace a health assessment where pre-existing medical problems are present.
A runner’s bag and finisher medal are also announced for both events. These are part of the participation experience, but the reference does not specify the bag’s contents or the collection procedure. The medal for completing the race should be understood within the official finishing conditions, without assuming extra gifts, bag-drop services or other benefits that have not been confirmed.
Another announced feature is an application for tracking participants. It may be useful for relatives and supporters, although details of its operation, update frequency and dependence on network coverage have not been supplied. Tracking through an application should not be confused with guaranteed continuous positioning or a personal emergency system. Supporters’ plans need to account for the limitations of remote information.
Financially, €90 for the 100K and €70 for the 50K are the announced entry fees. A €20 difference should not, by itself, determine a choice that doubles the distance. The actual cost of taking part may also include travel, accommodation or equipment, none of which has a confirmed price here. The race entry fee also does not establish whether any payment-processing charges are included.
Optional cancellation insurance is offered during registration: it costs €10 for the 100K and €7 for the 50K. Adding it brings entry and insurance to €100 and €77 respectively, before any payment charges. Its purpose is to allow a partial refund under the announced conditions, not to guarantee recovery of the entire amount paid if the participant cannot attend.
Until 30 November 2026, that insurance allows recovery of 60% of the entry fee: €54 for the 100 kilometres and €42 for the 50. The calculation excludes the insurance itself and card-payment charges. This distinction matters: the percentage applies to the race entry, not the full outlay, and additional costs are not included in the refund calculation.
At the announced rates, someone who paid €100 for the longer race and insurance would recover €54 under that condition; someone who paid €77 for the shorter race and insurance would recover €42. The unrecovered difference would be €46 and €35, excluding payment charges. The organisers state that no insurance means no refund through this cancellation route, an important limitation before entering.
The available information does not specify what percentage, if any, would be refunded between 1 December and 9 January. The November conditions should not automatically be extended to that period. It does establish that from 10 January 2027 there will be no cancellation or change of the registered race-number holder. The unexplained interval requires official clarification, not an invented favourable or restrictive interpretation.
For participants unable to attend, the organisers also describe an official race-place marketplace. The holder lists their entry for sale and another person can purchase it through the platform, with the participant’s details updated. A transfer through the official platform differs from cancellation with insurance: it depends on a purchase taking place and should not be confused with an immediate refund simply for listing the entry.
Under this system, entries appear in the order in which they are listed, and the original holder receives the amount paid for registration minus a €5 administration fee. At the announced base prices, that would mean €85 for the 100K and €65 for the 50K. Recovery of optional insurance or other charges is not confirmed, so these figures do not necessarily represent the entire initial outlay.
The marketplace may provide access when direct-entry places have run out, but its existence does not prove that entries are currently listed or buyers are waiting. It is also subject to the official terms and the announced deadline for changes of holder. Actual availability of race places can only be established through registration or transfer; the event figures describe the original capacity, not the current inventory.
According to the supplied instructions, an insured cancellation request requires proof of registration and a photograph of the holder’s Spanish identity document. These contain personal information and should be sent only through the official channel specified by the organisers. Protecting personal information is also part of responsible entry management: these documents should not be published on social media or sent to intermediaries outside the procedure.
The competitive side of the 100 kilometres includes announced prizes of €500, €200 and €100 for first, second and third place in the prize-awarding categories. The presentation information mentions awards for the winners of all categories in that distance but does not provide the full category list or criteria. It does not support calculating a total prize fund for 2027 or assigning these amounts to the 50-kilometre event.
The organisers have also stated that part of the funds will support a charitable cause. Neither the amount, the percentage nor the beneficiary has been specified for this edition. The announced charitable contribution can be reported without carrying donations or projects from previous events into 2027. A race continuing from year to year does not necessarily mean its social contribution has the same recipient.
Together, the information outlines a specific event: a fixed date, two distances, different start times, known prices and cancellation terms with significant limits. Details such as race-number collection, intermediate controls, aid-station supplies and equipment requirements remain unspecified. Distinguishing between confirmed facts and outstanding details avoids treating a public presentation as a complete rulebook, which is especially important when participation may continue through an entire night.
The third Ultrahélike offers two ways to experience Elche through endurance, but not two interchangeable versions of the same effort. Between 50 and 100 kilometres, exposure time, subsequent recovery and the self-sufficiency required by the course all change. A choice matched to experience is what gives the entry meaning: knowing the distance entered, accepting its conditions and reaching the start with preparation suited to the time that will be spent moving.
Where to stay in Elche
Hotels available 25–28 February 2027.
Affiliate links: if you book through this map we earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

Races2 months agoValencia 2026: dates, registration and 21K guide
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoAsics Gel-Roadmiles 3 for men: review and current price
Races2 months agoValencia Marathon 2026: entry, ballot and course
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoAsics Gel Sonoma 8 Gore-Tex: complete analysis for trail and rain
- Sneakers2 months ago
Saucony Endorphin Pro 4: full review and verdict
News4 months agoStrava API 2026: what changes for clubs, challenges and runner apps?
Reviews and Comparisons4 months agoNike Alphafly 3: opinions, sensations, and real key points
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoNew Balance TWO WXY V5: analysis, price, and performance
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoUnder Armour running shoes review 2025-2026: models and key features
Sports Equipment3 months agoShoe sizes in cm: a clear guide to getting the right fit for your footwear
News3 months agoWhere is the Hoka brand from and why was it born in France
- Sneakers2 months ago
Neutral running shoes with lots of cushioning: the best of 2026









