Races
Trail Serra d’Oltà 2026 in Calp: date, distances and fees
Half marathon, sprint and hiking route: what to expect from the December event in Calp.

Calp will host the 21st edition of the Trail Serra d’Oltà on Sunday, Dec. 13, 2026, as part of the 2026-27 Circuit Trail La Marina. The event combines mountain running and a hiking route. The start is scheduled for 9 a.m. at Parc de la Creativitat, in the Gargasindi area, and the programme includes three options with entry fees of 20, 22 and 25 euros, depending on the chosen distance.
The event offers a 21.097-kilometre half marathon, a 14-kilometre sprint and a noncompetitive 16-kilometre hike. Registration is listed as open from Oct. 12 through 11:59 p.m. on Dec. 9, 2026. The circuit rules specify marked routes and aid-station checkpoints, although the available details do not give the elevation gain or full course profile for each route: those figures should be checked in the current event documentation.
A December date on the La Marina calendar
The race is part of the ninth edition of the Circuit Trail La Marina, covering the 2026-27 season. The event’s 21st-edition numbering points to a long-standing place on the local calendar, while its December date makes it one of the year’s final mountain-running events in the area. The event is scheduled in Calp for Dec. 13, 2026, placing it on the winter sports calendar.
The start venue is Parc de la Creativitat, in the Gargasindi area. Some registration platforms use Calpe, while Calp is the Valencian name; both refer to the same Alicante municipality. For travel planning, the useful reference is the published event location, not a more precise postal address that does not appear in the available information. The start is set for 9 a.m., so it is worth checking final guidance on access, parking and bib pickup in advance.
Within the circuit calendar, the race shares the season with other events and offers an option for people who prefer to run or walk on mountain terrain. That mixed format broadens the range of potential participants, but it does not make every option competitive: the hike is explicitly described as noncompetitive. The choice depends on both distance and the nature of each route, and the hiking option should not be mistaken for a timed race.
Three options, three ways to explore the mountain
The Mitja Marató Oltà is the longest event on the programme, at 21.097 kilometres, the standard half-marathon distance. It is presented as a trail race and, because of its length, calls for preparation suited to the time each participant expects to spend on the course. Distance alone cannot determine difficulty: elevation, trail surface, weather and the distribution of climbs and descents all matter. The official course profile and rules should guide that assessment.
The Sprint Trail La Mola covers 14 kilometres and offers a shorter alternative to the half marathon. A shorter distance should not automatically be equated with an easy race: a mountain route can pack changes in pace and demanding sections into fewer kilometres. The available information names the event and its distance, but does not provide elevation gain or a detailed technical description. The published distance is 14 kilometres; the profile and conditions are also needed to compare its difficulty with other races.
The Marxa la Mola, also described in the event information as a hiking route, is 16 kilometres and is noncompetitive. Its purpose is to cover the course on foot, without a sporting result as the main focus. The distance falls between the two races, but the pace and approach to the day are different. This is a hiking option, not a third timed race, so participants should check its specific rules on timing, checkpoints and recommended equipment.
The three distances meet different needs: a long half marathon, a 14-kilometre mountain sprint and a 16-kilometre noncompetitive hike. The event name does not replace a review of the conditions: each registration may come with its own rules, cut-off times or requirements. The 2026-27 rules are the reference for confirming operational details, especially if the calendar or registration page is updated before race day.
Date, start and registration: confirmed details
The event is scheduled for Sunday, Dec. 13, 2026, starting at 9 a.m. from Parc de la Creativitat, in the Gargasindi area of Calp. The registration information identifies that venue and lists Gargasindi as the locality within the municipality. These details identify the event’s reference point, but they are not complete arrival instructions. The organisers may publish more detailed logistics closer to race day, including access, parking or pre-start services.
The listed registration window opens at 10 a.m. on Oct. 12, 2026, and closes at 11:59 p.m. on Dec. 9. Since the current date falls within that period, registration is listed as open, although it could close earlier if availability or platform conditions change. The page lists prices including taxes: 25 euros for the half marathon, 22 euros for the 14-kilometre sprint and 20 euros for the hike. Check that the fee remains current before registering.
The difference between the cheapest and most expensive option is five euros. That variation should not be read as a measure of difficulty or sporting value; it reflects the published fees for the different entries. The page gives a common closing date of Dec. 9, but does not provide further details about transfers, refunds or extensions. Those conditions depend on the rules and registration platform, so they should not be assumed.
It is also useful to distinguish the race date from the registration dates. The event takes place on Dec. 13, four days after the stated registration deadline. That leaves time for participants to review event communications and arrange travel, although the available details do not confirm when bibs will be distributed. The start time is published as 9 a.m.; pickup times, course cut-offs and any changes should be checked in the latest event information.
What is known about the course and what remains unconfirmed
The circuit information says the routes will be marked and that aid-station checkpoints will be available. These are relevant features of a mountain event: markings help participants follow the intended course, while checkpoints help manage the field and provide support during the day. Those general details do not describe each route, however. The available information does not state elevation gain, maximum altitude, surface types or cut-off times, so it would be unwise to attribute unconfirmed characteristics to the course.
The race name refers to Serra d’Oltà, and the name Sprint Trail La Mola is associated with the shorter distance, but names alone cannot reconstruct a route. In mountain terrain, a small difference in distance can include steep slopes, runnable tracks or technical sections; without a map and profile, none of those possibilities can be asserted for this edition. The course map and current rules are essential to understanding the actual difficulty, for both runners and hikers.
Course markings do not remove the need to pay attention. In any mountain race, participants should follow the event markings and staff instructions rather than relying only on a downloaded route or following another runner. This general advice does not replace the specific event rules, which take precedence if they set out a different procedure. The marked route and race instructions are the guide during the event.
Aid stations are part of the information confirmed by the circuit rules, but the available details do not state how many there will be, where they will be located or what they will provide. Requirements for self-sufficiency and mandatory equipment for each distance are also unspecified. Under those circumstances, it would be inaccurate to present an equipment list as an official requirement. The technical information for each event should clarify these points, along with rules on litter, outside assistance and incidents.
How to assess which option suits each participant
Choosing between the three options starts with recent experience on uneven terrain, not just road-running pace. A mountain half marathon can take more time and effort than the same distance on a flat surface, while a short race is not automatically suitable for someone who has not trained on trails. Slopes and surfaces affect stride and muscular load. Preparation should match the actual course profile, which still needs to be checked in this edition’s specific documentation.
Anyone considering the Mitja Marató Oltà should assess how long they can sustain prolonged activity and how they handle climbs and descents. For the Sprint Trail La Mola, 14 kilometres is a shorter distance, but it does not reveal the effort required without a course profile. The 16-kilometre hike, meanwhile, is for people taking part on foot and without a competitive classification, according to the available information. The key difference is not only distance: each option has a different purpose.
In the weeks beforehand, sensible general preparation can include progressively longer outings on similar surfaces, well-tested shoes and attention to recovery. These are general mountain-activity principles, not official prescriptions or an individual training plan. December temperatures, rain or trail conditions can change how demanding the day feels, so equipment and pace should reflect any conditions communicated for race day. Trying new shoes or a hydration strategy for the first time during the event adds uncertainty.
The hiking option also calls for a realistic assessment. Walking 16 kilometres on a mountain route may take several hours, although the exact time will depend on elevation and pace, details not specified in the information reviewed. Participants should confirm whether the hike shares a start and checkpoints with the races or has its own rules. Noncompetitive does not mean the route has no physical demands; it means the option is not presented as a competition.
Calp as the meeting point for race day
Parc de la Creativitat, in the Gargasindi area, is the published location for the start. Arriving with time to spare is usually practical at events with several distances, allowing participants to find the meeting point and follow pre-start instructions without adding pressure to the morning. The available sources do not specify parking, transport or venue opening times, however. Those details should be confirmed in organiser updates, rather than assuming that particular facilities will be available.
Calp, in Alicante province, is the local setting for an event included in a regional trail circuit. The race brings together people with different profiles: long-distance runners, athletes choosing a shorter route and hikers. That mix makes it important to respect course rules and safety instructions. The range of options is one of the clearest features of the event, even though each has its own purpose.
For visitors travelling from elsewhere, the precise location and access times can matter as much as the sporting distance. Gargasindi is the reference shown on the event page, but no full postal address or verified access route is provided. It is therefore better to check updated directions before setting out rather than rely on a generic name entered into a navigation app. Arrival information can change and should be checked against the latest event communication.
An edition combining competition and open participation
The programme brings together a half marathon, a sprint and a hike, giving the same event different paces and goals. The longer race centres on endurance, the 14-kilometre option offers a shorter format, and the hike opens the day to people who prefer walking. These formats can bring a varied group together without blurring the difference between competing and taking part. The 16-kilometre hike is described as noncompetitive, while the other two options are listed as trail races.
Being part of the 2026-27 Circuit Trail La Marina places the event within a season rather than treating it as a one-off race. That context may matter to people following several dates on the calendar, although the information provided does not explain points, overall standings or circuit participation criteria. It would therefore be unwise to claim a particular scoring system. What is confirmed is that the race is part of the circuit’s ninth edition; any ranking rules should be checked in the relevant regulations.
The 21st edition and variety of events provide context, but practical details remain decisive: date, start, fees, distances and rules. Before race day, registered participants can check for updates to the route, schedule or services. Mountain events can depend on conditions that require adjustments, so the initial listing may not be the final word. The organisers’ current information takes precedence over any calendar summary.
With a scheduled 9 a.m. start on Dec. 13 and three options ranging from 14 to 21.097 kilometres, the Calp event combines a sporting challenge and a hiking route within a regional circuit. Published fees range from 20 to 25 euros, and the announced registration period ends Dec. 9. The profile, elevation, precise aid-station locations and final logistics still need to be checked in the event documentation: those details complete the picture of a day whose date, location and options are already confirmed.
Where to stay in Calpe
Hotels available 11–14 December 2026.
Affiliate links: if you book through this map we earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

Races2 months agoValencia 2026: dates, registration and 21K guide
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoAsics Gel-Roadmiles 3 for men: review and current price
Races2 months agoValencia Marathon 2026: entry, ballot and course
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoAsics Gel Sonoma 8 Gore-Tex: complete analysis for trail and rain
- Sneakers2 months ago
Saucony Endorphin Pro 4: full review and verdict
News4 months agoStrava API 2026: what changes for clubs, challenges and runner apps?
Reviews and Comparisons4 months agoNike Alphafly 3: opinions, sensations, and real key points
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoNew Balance TWO WXY V5: analysis, price, and performance
Reviews and Comparisons3 months agoUnder Armour running shoes review 2025-2026: models and key features
Sports Equipment3 months agoShoe sizes in cm: a clear guide to getting the right fit for your footwear
- Sneakers2 months ago
Neutral running shoes with lots of cushioning: the best of 2026
News3 months agoWhere is the Hoka brand from and why was it born in France









